Guillermo Escarraga tops Banks DIH golf tournament


Guillermo Escarraga of Macorp seems set to write his name in a prominent place in the upcoming Guyana Open 2019, as he beautifully outperformed the field with a superb net 61 off a 21 handicap, in the Banks DIH annual golf extravaganza of Sunday (October 20)

For the upcoming Guyana Open, new faces could be in winner’s row in the 19-28 Flight as Guillermo’s net 61, the overall best net performance for the day, was way ahead of past Club President Jerome Khan, who was second with net 70, off a handicap 24.

Other golfers in that Flight followed at a distance; Mauro Remiro and Miguel Oviedo both scored 78/28, Jordi Pinol (86/28), Lloyd Fung-A-Fat (87/28), Mario Acuna (89/28), Eion Blue (90/28) and Solomon Bannister (96/28).

Noticeably, in the tournament of the day before (Saturday, October 19) Guillermo came in a close second (67/22) behind recently returned Nirmaldeo Sarwan (66/24), who himself could be a keen contender in that category.

Performances in the 10-18 or ‘B’ Flight is generally less predictable as this Flight has the largest group of golfers. On Sunday the winners were Mike Gayadin (64/14) and Mahindranauth Tewari (67/15).

They were followed by Bridgelall Harry (68/16), Lakram Ramsundar (69/18), Rakesh Harry (71/18), Satrohan Tiwari (73/16), Aasrodeen Shaw (74/13), Deoram Dinanath (74/15), Hilbert Shields (74/16), and George Bulkan and Ian Gouveia (75/16) in the range below 76 net. By comparison, Saturday’s winners were Pur Persaud (64/16), and Satrohan Tiwari (70/16).

Sunday’s results in the 0-9 category also suggest possible new faces for the Guyana Open 2019 winners row. While nine-time Guyana Open champion Avinash Persaud retained the Best Gross score with 73, younger brother and also a previous Guyana Open winner, Avinda Kishore, produced a gross 75 and seemed set on laying a challenge for the title of champion this year.

In this category the net winners were Avinda Kishore (70/5) and Avinash Persaud (71/2). The performances of Mike Mangal (72/9), Aleem Hussain (73/8), Alfred Mentore (74/9) and Patrick Prashad (75/9) suggest that they too are likely to offer stiff competition for the championship.

The Longest Drive was won by Avinda Kishore, while Nearest-to-the-Pin was won by Mahindranauth Tewari.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.