Guyana Jaguars batsmen among the runs in first warm-up game


Christopher Barnwell, Kemol Savory and Raymon Reifer scored fifties and the bowlers kept a tight rein as the Guyana Jaguars defeated the Rest XI by 39 runs under the Duckworth/Lewis/Stern method in the first of two warm-up games ahead of the Colonial Medical Insurance Super50, starting November 6.

Playing at the Georgetown Cricket Club, Bourda, on Wednesday, Jaguars piled up 280-4 off the allotted 45 overs and then had the Rest XI 200-7 in 38 overs when bad light ended play.

Kemol Savory

Jaguars were led by Barnwell, who cracked seven sixes and three fours in an unbeaten 74 off 51 balls, Savory, who struck nine fours and two sixes in 65 off 91 balls, and Reifer, whose 33-ball 62 included six sixes and two fours.

Tagenarine Chanderpaul faced 81 balls for his 49 (5x4s).

Bowling for the Rest XI, Nial Smith took 1-71 from eight overs, Ronaldo Ali-Mohamed 1-29 from two, and Gudakesh Motie 1-26 from eight overs. Kelvin Sinclair and Richie Looknauth bowled economically, sending down their nine overs each for 28 and 32 respectively.

Rest XI in reply were led by Kevlon Anderson, with an unbeaten 68 off 91 balls. Vishaul Singh made 28, Raymond Perez 25 and Kevin Sinclair 20.

Bowling for Jaguars, Ronsford Beaton grabbed 2-39 from seven overs, Clinton Pestano 2-38 from eight and Veerasammy Permaul 2-38 from nine.

The second and final practice game for the Guyana Jaguars ahead of the upcoming Regional tournament will be played on Friday (November 1) at the Enmore Community Centre ground, from 09:30h.

Guyana Jaguars: Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Leon Johnson (Captain), Christopher Barnwell, Raymon Reifer, Anthony Bramble, Gudakesh Motie, Veerasammy Permaul, Clinton Pestano, Ronsford Beaton, Nial Smith, Jonathan Foo, Kemol Savory and Ramaal Lewis. (Esuan Crandon- Head Coach, Shivnarine Chanderpaul- Assistant Coach, Neil Barry- Physiotherapist/Strength and Conditioner)

Rest Side: Trevon Griffith, Quintin Sampson, Kevlon Anderson, Tevin Imlach, Vishaul Singh, Ricardo Adams, Antony Adams, Ronaldo Ali-Mohamed, Richie Looknauth, Keon Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Raymond Perez and Ashmead Nedd.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.