St. Agnes Primary crowned Courts Pee Wee champions


Since the 2016 heartbreak of a 0-1 loss to neighbours St. Angela’s Primary, the lads of St. Agnes Primary have played every match in the Courts Pee Wee tournament with a desire to make amends.

Three years later, they can breathe a sigh of relief since they are no longer runners-up, but rather champions of the eight edition of the tournament, which was co-sponsored by Banks DIH through the Malta Supreme brand.

Title triumph was achieved at the Ministry of Education ground on Saturday when they edged Genesis Harmony Primary 1-0 in the final.

With the match headed to the uncertainty of penalty kicks, captain Darius Chester, who was voted the tournament’s Most Valuable Player, scored during extra time (45th minute) after the countless chances they had created in regulation time.

For their efforts, St. Agnes went home with a 55-inch flat screen television and the championship trophy, while Genesis won a 43-inch and the corresponding trophy and medals for their finish. Their goalkeeper, Sundya Grandison won the Best Keeper title.

In the third place playoff, Soesdyke defeated Tucville 1-0 with Jaden Tasher scoring in the 49th minute.

St. Pius Primary Jamal Fraser won the most goals awards with his 18 conversions.

Meanwhile, Timehri Primary finished fifth after a walkover from St. Pius and West Ruimveldt ended seventh after topping Redeemer 2-1.

St. Ambrose won 4-2 on penalty kicks after their tie with Marian Academy ended 2-2 for ninth place spot, while Mae’s defeated Stephen’s 2-1 to finish eleventh.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.