V-Net Communications boosts Savory ahead of Super50


Guyana Jaguars newbie Kemol Savory has gotten the assistance of V-Net Communications ahead of his departure from Guyana on Monday for the Colonial Medical Insurance Regional Super50 in Trinidad and Tobago and St. Kitts.

The satellite communications and tracking company made the presentation to Savory at their 25 Delph Street location on Saturday.

Chief Executive Office Safraz Sheriffudeen said: “Savory has always been a disciplined lad and we have seen how hungry he was to succeed and the dedication he places into training since his early days of youth cricket.”

He added, “There are times we felt his frustration of not making the cut after some solid performances, but at the same time, I saw his desire to never give up and that is what we admire most about Savory. We hope whenever he gets an opportunity in this tournament that he takes and shows his talent. There is a world of opportunities for cricketers now and this is his chance to make it count.”

With Guyana and West Indies all-rounder Keemo Paul being V-Net Communications’ Brand Ambassador, Sheriffudeen stated they will continue to support budding talents and urged players to remain steadfast in training and be open to taking advice to improve their skills.

Savory thanked Sheriffudeen for his support and vowed he will do everything to make his fellow Essequibo family and supporters proud, but most importantly be a team player to help Jaguars reap the desired success.

The 23-year-old wicketkeeper/batsman has scored 745 runs across the previous three seasons (2017-19) of the 50-over Franchise League. This season he cracked 337 runs in seven matches and had 18 dismissals. During the three-year period, he has 35 dismissals.

Guyana, hunting a first regional 50-over title since 2005, will be playing in Group B in Trinidad.

Their first match is on November 7 against West Indies Emerging Players Squad at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy.

Trinidad and Tobago Red Force, Windward Islands Volcanoes and the United States of America are the other teams in the group. Teams will play a double round-robin format, with the top two progressing to the semi-finals.

The squad reads: Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Leon Johnson (Captain), Christopher Barnwell, Raymon Reifer, Anthony Bramble, Gudakesh Motie, Veerasammy Permaul, Clinton Pestano, Ronsford Beaton, Nial Smith, Jonathan Foo, Kemol Savory and Ramaal Lewis.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.