Rio Inn puts up $1M first prize for inaugural Futsal competition


The growing phenomenon that is indoor futsal has reached its greatest height thus far with Rio Inn putting up a one million dollars first prize for their inaugural tournament, set to kick off on November 14 at the National Gymnasium, Mandela Avenue.

Add the cash incentives for second to fourth to the winner’s purse and the total prize package rises to a whopping $1.7 million. The runner-up team is guaranteed $400,000, third $200,000 and fourth $100,000.

Rocky’s Hotel and Club is a co-sponsor along with Banks DIH Limited under the Guinness brand.

The official launch was held on Tuesday at Rio Inn on Oronoque and Foreshaw Streets in Queenstown, where organisers, Three Peat Promotions, unveiled the lavish plans for the tournament, which will see four fans win $5,000 each every playing night.

The other playing dates are November 16, 21, 23, 28 and 30, December 7 and the semi-finals and final on December 14.

According to Referee Coordinator, Wayne ‘Harry’ Griffith, the objective of the sponsors is to give these teams a tangible prize offering, given it is the Christmas season. He added throughout 2020 they will look to host four tournaments of this magnitude.

The 24 invited teams will be split in six groups of four, with the top two and best four third-place finishers progressing to the Round-of-16 and further knockout rounds.

Rawle Welch, another member of Three Peat Promotions, pleaded with passionate fans and players to abide by the rules and not allow bad behaviour to ruin what should be a spectacle of a tournament.

Eight players will make up a squad and players are reminded that after four fouls penalties will be awarded against those making an infraction.

The teams invited are Gold is Money, Bent Street, Back Circle, Sparta Boss, Leopold Street, LA Ballers, Future Stars, Avocado Ballers, Tiger Bay, Sophia, Albouystown A and B, Showstoppers, Alexander Village, Rio All Stars, Melanie, Buxton Diamond, BV, Stabroek Ballers, New Market Street, Ol Skool Ballers, Island All Stars, Broad Street and Silver Bullets.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.