GBA closes season with West Indian Sports Complex Christmas tournament


The Guyana Badminton Association (GBA) culminated the 2019 season with the West Indian Sports Complex sponsored Christmas tournament at the National Gymnasium, Mandela Avenue, on Sunday.

The highlight of the tournament was outstanding Junior Champion Akili Haynes winning the Under-19 Singles and the Open Doubles with Tyrese Jeffrey.

Below are the category winners


1st. Akili Haynes

2nd. Tyrsese Jeffrey

3rd. Matthew Beharry


1st. Priyanka Shivnauth

2nd. Alea Ruplal

3rd. Jayde Dasilva


1st. Akili Haynes/Tyrese Jeffrey

2nd. Jonathan Mangra/Avinash Odit

3rd. Darrell Carpenay/Avian Rodrigues


1st. Ayanna Watson/Christina Kumar

2nd. Emelia Ramdhani/Anna Perreira

3rd. Jayde Dasilva/Priyanka Shivnauth


1st. Jonathan Mangra/Ambika Ramraj

2nd. Avinash Odit/Christina Kumar

3rd. Darrell Carpenay/Ayanna Watson


Under-19 Boys Singles First Round:

Trisson Harte defeated Renne Persaud: 20-22, 21-19, 21-17

Alexander Persaud defeated Juan Ferreira: 21-7, 21-4

Under-19 Boys Singles Quarter-Finals:

Akili Haynes defeated Trisson Harte: 21-4, 21-8

Matthew Beharry defeated Jaurel Hendricks: 21-6, 21-8

Isaac Mallampati defeated Jedidiah Uwagboe:21-12, 21-4

Tyrese Jeffrey defeated Alexander Persaud: 21-8, 21-4

Under-19 Boys Singles Semi-Finals:

Akili Haynes defeated Matthew Beharry: 21-7, 21-15

Tyrese Jeffrey defeated Isaac Mallampati: 21-5, 23-21

Under-19 Boys Singles Finals:

Akili Haynes defeated Tyrese Jeffrey: 21-18, 21-12

Under-19 Boys Singles Third Place:

Matthew Beharry defeated Isaac Mallampati: 21-12, 21-16

Under-19 Girls Singles Semi-Finals:

Priyanka Shivnauth defeated Jayde DaSilva: 22-20, 21-18, 21-17

Alea Ruplal gained a walk over from Mishka Beharry:

Under-19 Girls Singles Finals:

Priyanka Shivnauth defeated Alea Ruplal: 15-21, 21-19, 212-19

Third Place went to Jayde DaSilva

Open Men Doubles First Round:

Matthew Beharry/Isaac Mallampati defeated Trisson Harte/Jaurel Hendricks: 21-6, 21-6

Easa Sanichara/Shaven Greene defeated Alexander Persaud/Jaun Ferreira: 21-1, 21-4

Open Men Doubles Quarter-Finals:

Akili Haynes.Tyrese Jeffery defeated Matthew Beharry/Isaac Mallampati: 21-8, 21-8

Ernesto Choo-A-Fat. Marlon Chung defeated Easa Sanichara/Shaven Greene: 21-17, 21-18

Darrell Carpenay/Avian Rodrigues defeated William Holder/Haymant Ramdhani: 21-17, 21-13

Jonathan Mangra/Avinash Odit defeated Alexander Persaud/Jedidiah Uwagboe: 21-4, 21-12

Open Men Doubles Semi-Finals:

Akili Haynes/Tyrese Jeffery gaind a walk over from Ernesto Choo-A-Fat (Injury)/Marlon Chung

Jonathan Mangra/Avinash Odit defeated Darrell Carpenay/Avinash Odit: 21=17, 21-19

Open Men Doubles Finals:

Akili Haynes/Tyrese Jeffrey (Under-19 Champions) defeated Jonathan Mangra/Avinash Odit: 19-21, 21-7, 27-25

Third Place went to Darrell Carpenay/Avian Rodrigues

Open Ladies Doubles Round Robin:

Ayanna Watson/Christina Kumar defeated Priyanka Shivnauth/Jayde DaSilva: 21-8, 21-16

Emelia Ramdhani/Anna Perreira defeated Priyanka Shivnauth/Jayde DaSilva: 21-8, 21-13

Open Ladies Doubles Finals:

Ayanna Watson/Christina Kumar defeated Emelia Ramdhani/Anna Perreira: 21-19, 21-16

Third Place went to Jayde DaSilva/Priyanka Shivnauth

Open Mixed Doubles Quarter-Finals:

Darrell Carpenay/Ayanna Watson defeated William Holder/Angelica Holder: 18-21, 21-17, 21-15

Avinash Odit/Christina Kumar defeated Easa Sanichara/Anna Perreira: 21-13, 21-17

Akili Haynes/Emelia Ramdhani defeated Trisson Harte/Priyanka Shivnauth: 21-7, 21-11

Open Mixed Doubles Semi-Finals:

Jonathan Mangra/Ambika Ramraj defeated Darrell Carpenay/Ayanna Watson: 21-13, 21-12

Avinash Odit/Christina Kumar defeated Akili Haynes/Emelia Ramdhani: 21-11, 22-20

Open Mixed Doubles Finals:

Jonathan Mangra/Ambika Ramraj defeated Avinash Odit/Christina Kumar: 21-9, 21-13

Third Place went to Darrell Carpenay/Ayanna Watson

The Guyana Badminton Association would like to express gratitude to West Indian Sports Complex for sponsoring the tournament, as well as Ayanna Watson for providing refreshments and gifts for the participants, Troy Beharry for refreshments and the executive committee for organising the tournament.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.