Top cricketers, officials of 2019 honoured by GCB


The Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) on Wednesday evening held its annual awards ceremony, recognising the achievements of the top cricketers of 2019.

Officials and corporate entities were also awarded for their contributions to the game during the past 12 months. The event was held at the Georgetown Cricket Club pavilion with Cricket West Indies Vice-president Dr. Kishore Shallow delivering the feature remarks.

Premium Awards:

Romario Shepherd: Cricket of the Year Male
Other nominees: Keemo Paul and Shimron Hetymer

Shemaine Campbelle: Cricketer of the Year Female
Other nominees: Sheneta Grimmond and Shabika Gajnabi

Shabika Gajnabi: Most Promising Female Cricketer of the Year

Romario Shepherd: Most Improved Male Cricketer of the Year

Ashmead Nedd: Junior Cricketer of the Year

Raymon Reifer: Senior Regional Cricketer of the Year

Mavindra Dindyal: Most Runs in Regional Under-15

Isai Thorne: Most Wickets in Regional Under-15

Mavindra Dindyal: Most Valuable Player in Regional Under-15

Mathew Nandu: Most Runs in Regional Under-17

Sheldon Charles: Most Wickets in Regional Under-17

Sheldon Charles: Most Valuable Player in Regional Under-17

Kevlon Anderson: Most Runs in Regional Under-19

Ashmead Nedd: Most Wickets in Regional Under-19

Kevlon Anderson: Most Valuable Player in Regional Under-19

Top Curator of 2019 Deolall Rajkumar (left) of Enmore collects his award from former GCB president Drubahadur

Corporate Awards:

Hand-in-Hand Mutual Fire and Life Insurance Companies

Dave West Indian Imports

SBF Petroleum

Journalist of the Year Brandon Corlette receives his award from Selena Bacchus of the GCB

Special Service Awards

Ms Elizabeth Sunich: For her long, dedicated and unwavering commitment to supporting Guyanese and international cricketers and cricket throughout Guyana and the Caribbean.

Everest Cricket Club: For their invaluable contribution to the development of cricket in Guyana for the year.

Groundsman: Deolall Rajkumar of the Enmore Community Centre ground: For dedicated service to cricket as a Curator for the year.

Rayon Griffith: For his outstanding service as a cricket coach for the year.

Brandon Corlette: For his dedicated and outstanding service as a cricket reporter in the field of print media.

Lower Corentyne: Best Franchise Team of the year 2019
Other nominees: West Berbice and Essequibo

Georgetown Cricket Club: Club of the year 2019
Other nominees: Abion Community Centre Ground and Rose hall Youth and Sports Club

Players of the 2019 the Guyana Jaguar Four-Day Team and the Guyana Under-15 Team also received awards for winning their receptive tournaments.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.