Enmore Cricket Club honours top players, officials and fans of 2019


Members of the Enmore Community Centre Cricket Club (ECCCC) on Sunday afternoon took a break from the cricket field and gathered in the auditorium to recognise the club’s top players, officials, sponsors and fans of 2019.

The occasion marked the sixth time such a ceremony has been held since the club’s resuscitation in 2013.

Life Member of the Club, Taajnauth Jadunauth, in delivering brief remarks to the gathering of cricketers, special invitees and well-wishers, said it is “heartening” to see a large number of young players now attached to the East Coast Demerara club.

He credited Club Captain Bheemraj Ramkelawan and his executives for keeping the club active by opening its door to new members.

“Under the leadership of your current Captain and Chairman, progress is being made. Players please do not, out of anger, out of dissatisfaction, walk away from this club. Problems will be there; solutions are always there,” Jadunauth said.

Club Captain Bheemraj Ramkelawan (second right) with awardees Amir Khan (left), Satesh Jainarine (second left) and Imran Hassan

The former Chairman of the Club urged the players to integrate their academics with their cricketing exploits, thereby allowing them to become well-rounded.

“Some people will tell you you can’t study and play at the same time, well I have studied and played at the time. Sports stimulate the brain; if you engage in sports you are stimulating your own brain, but nothing in sports and nothing in life will be achieved unless you indulge in proper discipline,” Jadunauth advised.

In an effort to attract new members, Ramkelawan stated that persons below the age of 15 would be given free membership. He also highlighted that the club plans to embark on its second overseas tour next year and the destination would be decided after the AGM in January 2020.

National player Chaitram Balgobin (left) receives his Most Promising Player prize and a pair of batting gloves from Club Captain Bheemraj Ramkelawan

List of Awardees 2019

Most Committed Player- Vivikanand Ishwardin (Despite not being a regular playing member, Ishwardin consistently assists the team with scoring, fundraising activities and pitch preparation)

Supporter-of-the-Year- Rudolph Singh Sr. (Singh attended over 75% of matches during 2019. Special mention was also made of Mr. Gobin and Uncle Nar)

Most Promising Young Player- Chaitram Balgobin (Balgobin played a match-winning knock in just his second game for the senior team, helping his side to the semi-finals of the 100-Ball competition)

Most Improved Player- Navindra Gobin (Batting low in the order, Gobin scored 377 runs a high strike rate during the past year. His performances were crucial to ECCCC being on the verge of entering three finals)

Best Bowling Figures- Satesh Jainarine (Jainarine was the consistent wicket-taker for ECCCC in 2019, returning a best effort of 5-22 from seven overs against Cotton Tree)

Best Batting Performance- Imran Hassan (Hassan scored 87 not out against Cane Grove SC in a T20 match and 84 in an eight-over game against Berbice Police)

Best All-rounder- Amir Khan (In 10 games, Khan scored 236 runs and picked up 26 wickets. Special mention was made of Yuvraj Dyal, who had 248 runs and 31 wickets in 20 matches)

Most Wickets- Satesh Jainarine (Jainarine bagged 37 wickets during the season, taking three or more wickets in an innings on six occasions)

Most Runs- Imran Hassan (Opening batsman Hassan was the team’s leading runscorer with 551 runs at an average of 46. In partnership with club captain Bheemraj Ramkelawan at the top, the duo combined for 950 runs, accounting for 30% of the team’s total in the season)

Best Under-15 Player- Sohail Gangaram (A Chinaman bowler Gangaram took 4-15 against Fairfield in the Rubis U-15 competition)

Sport Personality of the Year- Bheemraj Ramkelawan (Ramkelawan was recognised for his contribution to the promotion and development of cricket in Enmore, being in the forefront leading the club on and off the field. He was hailed for promoting a positive image of the club and for having an unblemished record as captain in 2019)

Special recognition: Deolall Rajkumar for being awarded Best Curator by the Guyana Cricket Board for 2019; Chaitram Balgobin for making the Guyana Under-17 team; and Ravi Etwaroo of Cricket Zone USA for his selfless contribution to the development of cricket at the club.

During 2019, Shameer Shahib was nominated to be the club’s latest Honourary Life Member. He will be presented with the award at the Banks Beer 100-Ball final in January 2020.

Sponsors and well-wishers: Ravi Etwaroo of USA, Kumar Ramotar of Canada, Zaheer Mohamed- Kaieteur News, Brandon Corlette – Guyana Times, Romario Samaroo of Stabroek News, Avenash Ramzan- News Room, Jamal Mohamed of Jamal Grocery Store, Jailall Deodass- Motor Trend Auto, Banks DIH Limited, Rajin of Rajin Auto Paint, Raj of Raj’s Sports Bar, Anil Persaud, Sir Deoraj Nauth, Roberto Lall of Ray’s One Stop, Uncle Nar, Radesh Furniture Establishment, Romesh of Kissoon’s Construction Services, Javed of Boodram Bakery, Star Sports, Looknauth Lumber Yard, Rishi’s Barber Shop, Lens Variety Store and Johil Mining Company.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.