President calls for collaboration among town councils and RDCs


President David Granger on Monday called for more collaboration between the Regional Democratic Councils and the Town Councils.

“Regional councillors regardless of their political affiliation must collaborate for the common good of their municipalities and their regions,” the President said minutes after swearing re-elected Mayors and Deputy Mayors to serve the ten municipalities over the next year.

Speaking at the swearing-in ceremony held at the Ministry of the Presidency, the Head of State noted that Mayors and the Deputies should also recognise their responsibility to serve their constituents, regardless of political affiliation and to lead the process of transforming the towns into centres of commerce and industry. He also urged them to ensure public services are provided to the people in collaboration with the other levels of Government.

President Granger said that democratically elected local democratic organs are part of the system of the regional administration.

President David Granger receives a plaque depicting the key to the City and all of the ten towns from Ms. Waneka Arrindell, Mayor of Linden and President of the Guyana Association of Mayors.

“They are now expected to become agents of change, drivers of development and protectors of the environment in collaboration with Central Government and the Regional Democratic Councils,” he said.

He said Town Councils consistent with this policy should revamp and retool their admin systems to enable them to become engines of enterprise, agents of employment and engines of economic development.

Speaking with the media at the sidelines of the event, Minister of Communities Ronald Bulkan said finance continues to hinder the councils’ effective management.

“The issue of the revenue base of the councils is the single most important issue that affects and probably constraints the ability of the local authority to discharge their manifold responsibilities and it’s an issue which the Government has been working with our councils [to address] and it is one which we intend to see to its finality,” Minister Bulkan said.

The Mayors, who were sworn in on Monday are Mr. Ubraj Narine (Georgetown), Mr. Winston Roberts (Corriverton), Ms. Waneka Arrindell (Linden), Mr. Chattergoon Ramnauth (Rose Hall), Mr. Rajendra Prabhulall (Anna Regina), Mr. Gifford Marshall (Bartica), Mr. Chris Phang (Mabaruma), Mr. John Macedo (Lethem) and Mr. David Adams (Mahdia). The Mayor of New Amsterdam, Ms. Winifred Heywood is currently out of the jurisdiction and would be sworn in at a later date.

The Deputy Mayors, who took the Oath of Office are Mr. Alfred Mentore (Georgetown), Mr. Wainwright McIntosh (New Amsterdam), Mr. Imran Amin (Corriverton), Mr. Wainewright Bethune (Linden), Mr. Deonauth Harrinarine (Rose Hall), Mr. Rudolph Williams (Anna Regina), Ms. Carolyn Robinson (Mabaruma), Ms. Debra King (Lethem) and Ms. Juewayne Mendonca- Burrowes (Mahdia).

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.