Guyana Jaguars off to defend Four-Day title


Under the leadership of skipper Leon Johnson and Head Coach Esuan Crandon, the Guyana Jaguars departed Guyana on Monday morning for Antigua where they will commence the journey to a sixth consecutive title in Cricket West Indies Professional Cricket League Regional Four-Day championship.

Ever since the franchise system began in 2014/15, the Guyana Jaguars have been the only winner, copping a historic five titles on the trot.

They start the new season against Leeward Islands Hurricanes in a day/night, pink ball contest on January 9 at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Ground, North Sound.

In the absence of Shimron Hetmyer, Keemo Paul and Romario Shepherd, who are on West Indies duties, the Jaguars have opted to blood new talents, with the inclusion of the uncapped pair Kevin Sinclair and Nial Smith.

Both have played List A cricket- Sinclair for champions West Indies Emerging Players in the 2019 Super50 Cup and Smith for Jaguars in the same tournament- and are now on the cusp of making a debut in the longest format.

Out-of-favour West Indies leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo is also set to return from injury, teaming up with left-arm spinner Veerasmmy Permaul to lead the Jaguars bowling attack.

The squad reads: Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Leon Johnson (Captain), Christopher Barnwell, Vishaul Singh, Devendra Bishoo, Tevin Imlach, Keon Joseph, Raymon Reifer, Anthony Bramble, Veerasammy Permaul, Nial Smith and Kevin Sinclair.

The Coach is Esuan Crandon with Shivnarine Chanderpaul doubling as Assistant Coach and Manager. Neil Barry Jr. is the Physiotherapist.

Advertisement _____
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.