Enmore, Lusignan A to clash in SPR Enterprise 40-over final on Sunday


The Enmore Community Centre Cricket Club A team will take on defending champions Lusignan Sports Club A in the final of the 2019 SPR Enterprise 40-over cricket competition on Sunday at the Enmore Community Centre Ground.

This championship game was postponed in December 2019, due to inclement weather.

The competition, in its fourth year, commenced in January 2019 with 20 teams and was played between two groups in a round-robin format.

Both finalists, who are evenly matched, played unbeaten throughout the preliminary rounds, thus topping their respective groups. ECCCC won the inaugural edition in 2016 against Lusignan A in a low-scoring thriller.

On Sunday, Lusignan’s batting will be led by former national cricketer Krishna ‘Natty’ Deosarran, Steve Ramdass and Robin Williams, while Enmore will depend on former West Indies Under-19 and First-Class leg-spinning all-rounder Amir Khan, Imran Hassan and national Under-17 batsman Chaitram Balgobin.

In the bowling department Lusignan will bank on Kumar Bishundial and national Under-17 Chanderpaul Ramraj, while Enmore will look to Amir Khan and East Coast 2019 top two wicket takers, Satesh Jainarine and Yuvraj Dyal, to restrict the visitors’ batting.

Match time is 10:00h. Meanwhile, Ogle CC and Lusignan East are the third and fourth place teams respectively.

Lusignan A: K.Deosarran (Captain), S.Bharrat, G. Boodwah, S.Ramdass, R.Williams, V.Ramjeet, J.Heliger, R.Naikarran, E.Khan, A.Mohammed, K.Franklin, R.Gopaul and K.Bishundial

Enmore CCCC A: B.Ramkelawan (Captain), R.Singh, C.Surat, N.Gobin, S.Jainarine, A.Khan, R.Hiralall, C.Seemangal, S.Jainarine, Y.Dyal, C.Balgobin, V.Ramlakhan and I.Hassan.

Meanwhile, the remaining 2019 competition games will resume this weekend also.

In the Bel Air Rubis sponsored Under-15 competition, Lusignan will be at home to Enmore on Saturday from noon and Strathavon will host President’s College from the same time.

On Sunday at Strathavon ground, the East Coast Cricket Committee T10 competition will resume with Fairfield SC against LBI SC at 10:00h and Young Rivals (Unity) will against Lusignan East at 11:45h, while the last remaining quarter-final game in the Banks Beer 100 Ball-Bash between Starthavon SC and Cane Grove Renegades will be contested at 14:00h.

All teams are advised that the 2020 edition of the SPR Enterprise 40-over competition will commence on January 19 and since this competition will be played in two leagues, all interested teams are asked to register before Monday (January 13) to facilitate the announcement of early fixtures.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.