Warm-up matches confirmed for West Indies ahead of Over-50s WC


Ahead of the official bowl-off to the Over-50s World Cup in South Africa in March, tournament organisers have confirmed warm-up matches for the 12 participating teams.

Debutants West Indies will look to fine tune preparations when they warm-up against hosts South Africa on Sunday March 8 at Rondebosch Cricket Club and again against India a day later at Claremont Cricket Club.

Former South African fast bowler, Allan Donald, will be at the helm of the hosts as head coach, while his former teammate Jonty Rhodes is expected to make a huge impact as their marquee player.

The warm-up matches should give the Caribbean side adequate preparation ahead of their World Cup campaign opener against New Zealand on Wednesday March 11 also at Rondebosch CC in a Group A clash.

Along with West Indies; Zimbabwe, India and Namibia are making their first appearance in the Over-50s World Cup, which was first held in Sydney Australia in late 2018 when the hosts took the maiden title.

West Indies, led by Guyanese Zamin Amin, are in Group A with New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Australia, Sri Lanka and Canada, while the Group B teams are India, Pakistan, Wales, South Africa, Namibia and England.

All matches are scheduled to be 45 overs per-side and are set to begin at 10:15h South Africa time.

West Indies: Zamin Amin (captain), Rick Ali, Mark Audain, Narine Bidhesi, Julian Charles, Sudesh Dhaniram, Kenny Girdharry, Krishna Harricharan, Fareed Hosein, Howard Jodhan, Allison Johnson, Hafiz Mohamed, Azad Mohammed, Ishwar Maraj (vice-captain), Rajendra Sadeo, Balwant Singh, Raj Singh (Manager), Dave Narine (Assistant Manager), John Ramsingh (Media Manager) and Jaggernauth Seunath (PRO).

South Africa: Dave Callaghan (captain), Alan Dawson, Dave Duncan, Neil Fuesdale, Dave Holgate, Kenny Jackson, Louis Koen, Rodney Malamba, Mlungisi Ngece, Anwell Newman, Brad Player, Jonty Rhodes, Warne Rippon, Pieter Strydon, Nazeem White, Henry Williams, Allan Donald (coach), Roy Messer (Manager) and Marc Naidoo (Physio).

India: Shailendra Singh (captain), Parak Ananta, Ashwani Arora, Sanjay Beri, Verinder Boombla, Deepak Chadha, Aadil Chagla, Dilip Chavan, Thomas George, Mayank Khandwala, Iqbal Khan, PG Sunder, Preetinder Singh, Srikant Satya, Pradeep Patel, Tushar Zaveri, Ajoy Roy (coach), Parag Pandya (manager) and JK Mahendra Kanaiya (selector).

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.