East Coast lads win Demerara Inter-Association U-15 competition


The lads of East Coast were crowned champions as the Demerara Cricket Board Under-15 Inter-Association concluded its third and final round matches on Friday (Feb 7).

Following a three-way tie on the points table, East Coast was adjudged champions after having the best net run rate.

“This was a fortunate title as West Demerara had protested the match against Georgetown played on the 3 February, 2020. After the committee met and discussed the protest; a decision was made to award the match to West Demerara. As such East Coast, West Demerara and Georgetown were all on 12 points. However, on net run rate, East Coast came out with the best net run rate of 1.063; Georgetown came second on 0.907 and West Demerara on -0.784. Hence, East Coast was declared winners of this year’s competition,” PRO Manzoor Nadir said in a press release.

In the third and final round of matches, Joshua Alves destroyed West Demerara’s batting, claiming 4-6 to take East Coast to victory, while Dave Mohabir spun Georgetown to victory after collecting 5-12.

Over at the Lusignan Community Center Ground, West Demerara won the toss and elected to take first strike, but they struggled to score only managing 24 all out from 16 overs of the 50 overs.

East Coast started off their bowling with Bramanand Robindranauth taking 2-11, while Alex Datterdeen took 3-5 and the most instrumental bowler, Alves, claiming four.

In reply, East Coast achieved victory in 13.5 overs, losing a solitary wicket. Nityanand Matura was the lone wicket taker for the West Demerara side.

Meanwhile, over at Everest, East Bank won the toss and chose to bat, scoring 84 all out from 44.5 overs. Opener Deonarine Dindyal top scored with 17, while Dhanesh Persaud supported with 11. Dave Mohabir was the most destructive bowler claiming 5-12, while support came from Joshua Walcott, John Persaud and Riyad Latif, who took one wicket apiece.

In reply, Georgetown blazed to victory as openers Ryan Latif and Remo Deonarine scored 32 and 31 respectively to take their team to victory at 85-1 from 21.4 overs. Dhanesh Persaud was the lone wicket taker.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.