Rameez Mohamed remains GMR&SC head


Rameez Mohamed will serve a third consecutive term as President of the Guyana Motor Racing and Sports Club (GMR&SC) after he defeated challenger Mahendra ‘Raj’ Boodhoo by seven votes when the Annual General Meeting/Election of Officer Bearers was conducted at the club on Monday evening.

Mohamed received 30 of the 53 votes cast for the position, while 23 went in the favour of Boodhoo.

It is understood the other presidential candidate Mahendra Aaron Bethune decided not to contest, however, no official notice was given to the club to that effect.

Mohamed Shiraz Roshandin was voted in the new Vice-President after Hansraj Singh opted not to seek re-election.

Azim Jaffar unanimously retained his position as Secretary; he was on all three slates. Azaad Hassan will continue to function as Assistant Secretary/Treasurer.

Nirmal Sukhram returned as Treasurer after Chet Singh declined to contest, while Sunil Persaud retained the role of Club Captain by virtue of Mohamed becoming president. Mohamed and Persaud were the lone names initially listed for that particular post.

Additionally, Joel Evans copped 52 votes as opposed to Brian Ten Pow’s two in the race for Technical Advisor; Ten Pow was not in attendance.

The Committee Members remained the same, namely Paul Jiwanram (37 votes), Motilall Deodass (39 votes), Haniff Mohamed (37 votes), John Bennett (31 votes) and Kamal Seebarran (40 votes).

The Returning Officer was Accountant Harry Parmesar and a motion was passed by the new executive to retain the services of Parmesar Accountants as the club’s auditors.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.