West Dem T20: McGill, Cornelia Ida secure convincing wins


McGill Super Stars Sports Club defeated host Meten-Meer-Zorg by 39 runs when the West Demerara Cricket Association (WDCA) T20 competition continued on Sunday.

McGill won the toss and posted 119-6 as Azar Deen top-scored with 25* (2x4s), while Kheshram Seyhodan made 15 (2×4s). Troy Persaud 14 (3×4s) and Travis Persaud 12 (2×4s) chipped in with handy contributions.

Seyhodan and Troy Persaud steadied the ship with a 30-run partnership before the latter was adjudged leg before to Mahendra Nandkishore at 53-3 in the ninth over.

Deen made valuable runs with the lower-order as Sheldon Alexander (3-14) and Nandkishore (3-15) shared six wickets in their combined eight overs.

Former national youth spinner, Daniel Basdeo struck early for McGill when he removed Alexander leg before for seven in the third over.

Travis made it 15-2 the next over when he induced Lalchan Lakeram into being caught at cover.

The introduction of spinner Abdul Razack saw the host slip to 50-5 in the 12th over. And when Basdeo removed Jermine Maxwell for 22 in the 14th over, McGill were virtually in full control.

MMZ eventually finished at 81-8 with Reaz Khan unbeaten on 20.

In the day’s other game, Cornelia Ida Cricket Club defeated Zeeburg Sports Club by nine wickets, compliments of an unbeaten 101-run partnership between Richie Looknauth and Arshad Azim.

Chasing 133, Looknauth struck an unbeaten 50, while Azim made 56* which steered their side home in 15.1 overs; Khellwan Tulcan made 23.

Vaickesh Dhaniram with 6-22 was chief destroyer for the winners, who bundled out Zeeburg in 19 overs. Yutesh Persaud (39) and Maclom Hubbard (26) were principal scorers as Looknauth had 2-12 in four overs.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.