COVID-19 curfew, other measures extended until June 17


The National COVID-19 Task Force on Tuesday announced that the Emergency Measures (No.3) published in the Gazette 29th April 2020 and effective until June 3rd 2020 is extended to 17th June 2020.

The announcement was made by the Secretary of the Task Force, Imran Khan.

The restrictions, which includes a curfew from 6pm to 6am, were scheduled to end on June 3.

This also means that the international airports and all non-essential businesses will remain closed.

Guyana has been placed under these restrictions along with physical distancing measures since April 3. 

Despite these measures in place, Guyana continues to record an increase in the number of positive COVID-19 cases.

As of June 1, there were 153 known cases in the country, including 12 death and 70 recoveries.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.