U.S Congress urges Granger to ensure internationally recognised declaration of results

-hints at allowing int’l observers to return


Members of the United States Congress have written to incumbent President David Granger urging him to ensure that the 2020 results to be declared from the recount process is internationally recognized.

“Your leadership role during the recount process is critical to Guyana’s continued respect for the rule of law. Your place in Guyana’s history will be secured by ensuring an internationally-recognized Declaration of Results consistent with the laws of Guyana,” the letter dated June 4, 2020, noted.

The Members commended President Granger’s commitment “to honor the results and your attempts to address the concerns of the Guyanese people.”

They also made a subtle case for the President to allow international observers to return and observe the remainder of the electoral process here.

“We remain hopeful that the recount will be conducted in a fair and transparent manner, instilling confidence in the results and Guyana’s democratic institutions – with the support of the credible international observers that can verify the integrity of the process and the final result.

“The coronavirus pandemic continues to pose challenges for all countries and we understand that you have taken many unprecedented steps to the slow the spread of the virus, including closing your airport. Even so, all countries implementing measures to mitigate the spread of the coronavirus have also acknowledged that some work is so essential that it must continue. The legitimacy of elections will ensure the people of Guyana and their friends around the world can trust and e proud of the final result in the ongoing recount,” the members noted in the letter.

President Granger has denied two requests by the Carter Center Observer Mission to return and observe the recount of votes cast on March 2, 2020.

The Carter Center has played a crucial part in Guyana’s elections since 1992.

Using a U.S Congress letterhead, the letter was signed by five members of the U.S Congress: Alcee L. Hastings, Paul Cook. Darren Soto, Debbie Wasserman Schultz and Donna Shalala.

See the letter here

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.