Ganga Persaud to sit on Public Service Commission


Former Minister of Local Government and Regional Development Ganga Persaud is expected to be sworn in this morning to sit on the Public Service Commission.

Persaud served as Minister under the former PPP/C Government and a PPP/C MP from 2015 to 2020.

Persaud will be replacing Mrs Geeta Chandan-Edmond who resigned from the post after appearing on the APNU+AFC’s list of candidate for the March 2020 elections.

She is also on the Coalition’s list of Members of Parliament to serve in the National Assembly when parliament reconvenes.

The objective of the Public Service Commission is to make Appointments to Public Offices and to remove and exercise disciplinary control over persons holding or acting in such offices.

The PSC is made up of three members appointed by the President after meaningful consultation with the leader of the opposition, two members upon nomination by the National Assembly after it has consulted such bodies as appear to represent public officers or classes of public officers and if the President thinks fit, one other member acting in accordance with his own deliberate judgment.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.