IPL 2020: Delhi Capitals beat CSK to go top

SUMMARY: Delhi Capitals 175-3 (Prithvi Shaw 64, Rishabh Pant 37*; Piyush Chawla 2-33) beat Chennai Super Kings 131-7(Faf du Plessis 43, Kedar Jadhav 26; Kagiso Rabada 3-26) by 44 runs


Delhi Capitals (DC) sealed their second successive win in the Dream11 Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 as they beat Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by 44 runs at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Friday.

In the seventh game of the season, CSK, who made one change to their playing XI, bringing in Josh Hazlewood in place of Lungi Ngidi, won the toss and elected to field.

Prithvi Shaw set the ball rolling for DC, hitting two fours in the first over bowled by Deepak Chahar. While there were a couple of quiet overs, Shaw added two more fours to his account as he took on Sam Curran.

Piyush Chawla was introduced into the attack in the seventh over and Shaw welcomed him with two fours. In the next over, Shikhar Dhawan hit Ravindra Jadeja for a six and a four as DC moved past 60.

Shaw once again went after Chawla in the ninth over and then hit a six off Jadeja in the tenth over to complete his fifty.

CSK needed a breakthrough and Chawla provided them with one, dismissing Dhawan in the 11th over. The leg-spinner struck one more time as Shaw was stumped.

Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant joined forces in the middle following Shaw’s dismissal in the 13th over and added 58 runs together.

The partnership was broken in the 19th over when Dhoni took a stunning catch, diving to his right off Curran’s bowling. Hazlewood’s last over went for 14 runs as DC posted 175/3 on the board.

Kagiso Rabada was once against outstanding with the ball (Photo: IPL)

Defending 175, DC did not give away any easy runs in the first three overs before Shane Watson hit Avesh Khan for a four and a six in the 4th over. But Axar Patel dismissed Watson in the next over before Anrich Nortje got Murali Vijay out on the last ball of the powerplay. DC conceded just 13 runs in the next four overs and lost the wicket of Ruturaj Gaikwad.

Faf du Plessis and Kedar Jadhav put up a 54-run stand for the next wicket and kept the CSK hopes alive before Nortje got Jadhav out LBW in the 16th over.

While du Plessis enjoyed a couple of reprieves, he was eventually dismissed for 43 by Kagiso Rabada in the 18th over.

With 55 needed in the last two overs, CSK needed a miracle to win the match. But DC conceded only 10 runs in the last two overs and sealed 44-run win to seal their second win in a row. (IPL)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.