GGMC Manager who was demoted now appointed to chair Board


Jimmy Reece, a former manager at the Guyana Geology and Mines Commission (GGMC) who was demoted on a vote of No-Confidence in 2015 when the APNU+AFC administration took over, has now been appointed to Chair the Commission.

According to a Government Notice, the new board led by Reece was appointed with effect from October 1, 2020, for a period of one year.

The appointment was signed on September 28 by Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Governance Gail Texeira.

Reports indicated that in 2015, the former Board of the GGMC had set up a special review committee to review the performances of Reece, a Commissioner and two other managers. The Committee recommended that Reece who was at the time Manager of Geological Services Division be sent to the Guyana Mining School and Training Centre.

After the demotion, Reece left the GGMC and got involved in mining.

Other members of the board are Mr. Normal McLean, Mr. Kristen Chand Singh, Azeem Baksh of the Guyana Gold and Diamond Miners Association (GGDMA), Evan Persaud, Azad Arahim, GGMC Commissioner Newell Dennison, Pratima Kissoon of the Attorney General’s Chambers, Dabria Marcus of the GGDMA, Urica Primus of the Guyana Women Miners’ Association and Bishram Kuppen who was recently appointed Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Labour.

The other members are Eondrene Thompson of the Guyana Gold Board, Rawle Lewis of the Guyana Forestry Commission, Vickram Manoo, who represents workers, and Ex-Officio members of the National Toshaos Council, the Guyana Defence Force, the Guyana Police Force and the GGMC.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.