Dottin, Selman to compete in Women’s T20 Challenge during final week of IPL


West Indian pair Deandra Dottin and Shakera Selman have been named among players who will take part in the Women’s T20 Challenge to be played during the final week of the IPL from November 4-9 in the UAE.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Sunday announced the squads, naming Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana and Mithali Raj as captains of Supernovas, Trailblazers and Velocity respectively.

The best of Indian women’s cricket will combine with some of the leading stars from England, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Bangladesh and New Zealand in a four-match tournament.

Dottin was in outstanding form in the recent five-match T20 series against host England, scoring 185 runs in five innings, including two fifties. She also achieved the landmark of 100 T20 sixes.

Shakera Selman

Selman bowled well throughout the series, claiming six wickets in four games with a best of 3-26.

Meanwhile, Thailand’s Natthakan Chantham, who scored her country’s first Women’s T20 World Cup half-century, adds another feather to her cap as she will become the first Thai cricketer to feature in the tournament.

Teams will play each other once with the top two clashing in the final. Games would be played on November 4, 5, 7 and 9.

Supernovas: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Jemimah Rodrigues (Vice-captain), Chamari Atapattu, Priya Punia, Anuja Patil, Radha Yadav, Taniya Bhatia (WK), Shashikala Siriwardene, Poonam Yadav, Shakera Selman, Arundhati Reddy, Pooja Vastrakar, Ayushi Soni, Ayabonga Khaka, Muskan Malik.

Trailblazers: Smriti Mandhana (Captain), Deepti Sharma (Vice-captain), Punam Raut, Richa Ghosh, D. Hemalatha, Nuzhat Parween (WK), Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Harleen Deol, Jhulan Goswami, Simaran Dil Bahadur, Salma Khatun, Sophie Ecclestone, Natthakan Chantham, Deandra Dottin, Kashvee Gautam.

Velocity: Mithali Raj (Captain), Veda Krishnamurthy (Vice-captain), Shafali Verma, Sushman Verma (WK), Ekta Bisht, Mansi Joshi, Shikha Pandey, Devika Vaidya, Sushree Dibyadarshini, Manali Dakshini, Leigh Kasperek, Danielle Wyatt, Sune Luus, Jahanara Alam, M. Anagha.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.