Pooran, Chase named Vice-captains for New Zealand series


Cricket West Indies (CWI) has named the Vice-captains for the upcoming series in New Zealand. Nicholas Pooran will be Vice-captain for the three T20 Internationals (T20Is), while Roston Chase has been named Vice-captain for the two ICC World Test Championship matches.

Batting all-rounder Roston Chase, 28, has so far played 35 Test matches, scoring five centuries and collecting three five-wicket hauls with his off-spin bowling.

Wicket-keeper/batsman Pooran, 25, is among the leading white-ball players with two half-centuries in 19 T20I innings and also averaging close to 50 in One Day Internationals.

Roger Harper, CWI’s Lead Selector said: “Roston Chase has been appointed Vice-captain of the West Indies Test Team for this tour of New Zealand. He is an experienced player who is tactically aware and very purposeful in his approach to the game. He is readily willing to offer advice and discuss ideas with his fellow players and the coaches and I think will offer good leadership support to captain Jason Holder both on and off the field. Nicholas Pooran continues in the role of Vice-captain of the T20I Team for the tour of New Zealand. He was first named Vice-captain for this format for the series against Afghanistan in 2019.”

Roston Chase said: “I have been making strides in Test cricket since my debut back in 2016 and I see this new role as Vice-captain as an honour. It is just for me to try and carry on and try to achieve great things for West Indies. It is all about offering support to the captain, coach and other players as we try to plan strategy and put more wins on the board.”

Nicholas Pooran said: “I see this as another opportunity to learn and grow in the game. I was Vice-captain for the tour of Sri Lanka earlier this year, so this is continuation of that work. It’s always good to share your knowledge as we look to continue the winning mentality. We were successful in Sri Lanka and this is a series we believe we can get more success against New Zealand.”

Match Schedule:

November 27: 1st T20I at Eden Park, Auckland

November 29: 2nd T20I at Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui

November 30: 3rd T20I at Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui

December 3-7: 1st Test at Seddon Park, Hamilton

December 11-15: 2nd Test at Basin Reserve, Wellington

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.