Travel restriction imposed for Bartica, Region 7; only essential travel allowed


The government has imposed a travel restriction for Cuyuni –Mazaruni, Region Seven, to prevent a further spread of COVID-19.

The Region as of Monday recorded a total of 471 cases, of which 71 are active. However, 66 of the active cases are in Bartica, the COVID-19 hotspot in the Region.

The new gazetted COVID-19 measures released on Monday states, “non-essential travel into or out of Region Seven is restricted during the period 01 December, 2020 to December 31, 2020 and travel shall only be permitted where it is connected to an essential service.”

There shall be gatherings of no more than five persons and the six feet physical distance between persons must also be applied.

The Regional Democratic Council will be responsible for ensuring that government buildings, landings and means of transportation and conveyances are sanitised.

It was further stated that the Ministry of Health may test any person for COVID-19 and quarantine and isolate them.

“Any person who tests positive for coronavirus shall be placed in controlled or any other form of isolation or quarantine as approved by the Minister of Health.”

Meanwhile, the Joint Services will also be responsible for securing isolation and quarantine sites, materials and goods for those sites; and will also have a responsibility for the security of screening and testing checkpoints; provide escort for mobile teams; and ensure the security of entry and exit points, including the landings.

“The Minister may, after an assessment of the epidemiological situation in region seven, impose any other measure to prevent the spread of the COVID-19 pandemic.”

The ban remains on several social activities and indoor dining while gyms are now allowed to open at 50% capacity.

Rum shops and bars remain closed.

Outdoor dining along with drive through and curb side pickups are allowed until 09:30pm.

Further masks are mandatory when in public, travelling in a vehicle, vessel or aircraft.

These measures will remain in effect from December 1 to 31, 2020.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.