Jawahir, Glasgow, Deodat, Gafoor and France among BCCCC awardees


Held in conformity with the current COVID-19 guidelines, the Blairmont Community Centre Cricket Club (BCCCC) on Thursday afternoon hosted its annual awards ceremony at the iconic Big B’s Restaurant, honouring outstanding cricketers of the club.

The Senior Player-of the-Year award went to Kevon Jawahir, while national youth player Seon Glasgow copped the Youth Player-of-the-Year accolade.

National youth players Marvan Prashad and Nigel Deodat were voted Best Batsman and Best Bowler respectively of the year, while Zameer Nazeer was adjudged T20 Player-of-the-Year.

Kevon Jawahir was voted Senior Player-of the-Year

Former national Under-19 cricketer Javed Karim copped the Best All-rounder award, while Deodat was named the over Best Bowler. The Most Improved Batsman prize had a joint winner in Nazeer and Prashad.

Fast bowler Chris Harry was named the Most Improved Bowler, and Glasgow and Prashad were jointly deemed Most Disciplined Players.

The Second Division Player-of-the-Year prize went to Deodat, while long-serving BCCCC member Waqar Hussain received a special award. For integrating sport and academics, Anthony Sukra was given a special award.

The Under-15 awardees were Raashad Gafoor (Best Batsman), Sajjaad Ishmael (Best Bowler), Romeo Deonarine (Best All-rounder), Razam Koobir (Most Disciplined and Most Promising) and David Deonarine (Most Improved).

Some of the awardees

The Under-17 awardees were Satyah France (Best Batsman), Andy Tageraj (Best Bowler), Randy Rupnarine (Best All-rounder) and Altav Balman (Most Disciplined).

President of the BCCCC, Shabeer Baksh, congratulated the awardees and expressed gratitude to Fizul Haniff of Canada, members of the media, Big B’s Restaurant, Banks DIH Limited, Hand in Hand Insurance, Baksh Travel Service, Ravi Etwaroo of Cricket Zone USA, Ramdhanie Narine, Vijay Hansraj and Greens Massive among other for their support of the club.

Editor’s Note: Players were rewarded for performances between 2018-2020, as the club did not have an award ceremony last year.

Advertisement _____
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.