Mission accomplished for SA 10k winner Missigher


By Akeem Greene

Six years in waiting and finishing yet so close, but still far from the number one position, Winston Missigher has gotten an early Christmas gift by winning his first South American 10k title in Guyana on Sunday.

He stopped the clock at 34 minutes, 22.24 seconds in the run from Mary to Edinburg on the West Coast of Demerara.

On the sidelines, Missigher said this was always his dream; the one event he could not have conquered and despite the little preparation, he pulled on all his experience to win.

Despite the surprise absence of seasoned campaigner and multiple-time champion, Cleveland Forde, Missigher still felt proud of his accomplishment, noting, “even if he [Forde] was here, I would have still won.”

He copped G$150,000 for his sublime run.

Mission Accomplished! Winston Missigher crosses the finish line to win the South American 10k

The race, which was run in overcast conditions throughout, quickly became a pack of five, then the Police Sports Club trio of Missigher, Cleveland Thomas and Sir Kennard Hartog distanced themselves from the group.

Young Hartog kept the pace with the ‘big guns’ up until around the 7k marker where both Thomas and Missigher began picking up a slight pace.

Just after the 9k marker, Missigher took the lead, sprinting into the National Track and Field Facility with a massive distance ahead of Thomas, who clocked 34:53.20s, while Hartog registered 36:06.84s.

Daniel Harvey was fourth in a time of 36:23.40s and Ronald Newton’s 37:19.25s placed him fifth.

Second to fifth in both male and female categories won G$125,000, G$100,000, G$75,000 and G$50,000 respectively.

The female title went to Lindener Shema Tyrell, who paced ahead of Claudrice McKoy in the final 300 meters to clock 43:00.87s, while McKoy registered 43:15.95s.

Shaquka Tyrell (45:27.47s) was third, followed by Aliyah Headley (49:56.68s) and Kisanna Glen (54: 29.08s)

For the Junior male, Hartog was first, followed by Seon Booker (39.24.48s), Odida Parkinson (39:45.48s) and Omario Walcott (39:57.50s).

Junior athlete Shema Tyrell won the senior female title

The female junior category was a reflection of the senior results with the exception of McKoy, who is solely a senior.

The Masters category (40-54) was won by Francis King (39.53.80s) and second and third went Larry Josiah (40:50.63s) and Adrian Thomas (47:45.34s) respectively.

The Masters (55 and Over) was won by Debidyal Hartog (42:41.35s), with Linden Phillips (48:10.68s) and Oswald Phill (50:47.67s) taking second and third respectively.

The female Master winner was Carla Adams.

Aubrey Huston, President of the Athletics Association of Guyana, stated after the race they were pleased to get permission to host the race and the condition of the athletes was impressive given the long lay-off due to the pandemic.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.