IPL: Hetmyer retained; Paul and Rutherford released


Shimron Hetmyer was retained by the Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Delhi Capitals ahead of the 2021 auction, which is likely to be conducted on February 11.

Hetmyer’s retention on the deadline day for the list of retained and released players, makes him the lone Guyanese to be retained by a franchise.

Last season he scored 185 runs in 11 innings at an average of 23.12 and a strike rate of 148.

However, his Capitals teammate Keemo Paul was released, as well as compatriot Sherfane Rutherford from Mumbai Indians. Both players did not feature in any match in 2020.

The other West Indian players retained were: Kieron Pollard (Mumbai Indians), Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings), Andre Russell (Kolkata Knight Riders), Sunil Narine (Kolkata Knight Riders), Christopher Gayle (Kings XI Punjab), Nicholas Pooran (Kings XI Punjab) and Jason Holder (Sunrisers Hyderabad).

West Indians Sheldon Cottrell (Kings XI Punjab), Fabian Allen (Sunrisers Hyderabad) and Oshane Thomas (Rajasthan Royals) were released.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.