Over 20 teams to compete in inaugural Speaker’s T20 championship


Over 20 teams have been confirmed to compete in the inaugural Speaker’s T20 championship, set to bowl off shortly. The tournament dates and draw will take place on Friday (March 19) when the official launch is conducted at the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) Boardroom, Regent Road, Bourda.

The GCB and the Everest Cricket Club are partnering to stage the competition.

Among the teams confirmed to compete for top honours are Albion, Rose Hall Town Youth and Sports Club, Tucber Park, West Berbice, Lusignan Sports Club, University of Guyana Trojans, Everest Cricket Club, Police Sports Club, Malteenoes Sports Club, Gandhi Youth Organisation Sports Club (Regal), Demerara Cricket Club, Georgetown Cricket Club, Rising Stars Cricket Club, Canal Number Two, New Wales Superstars, McGill Super Stars Sports Club, Belle Vue Sports Club, Cornelia Ida and Bacchus Sports.

The teams would be vying for a top prize of G$1 million, while second to fourth would receive G$500,000, G$200,000 and G$100,000 respectively. The Most Valuable Player would also be rewarded.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.