Confident F Division out to retain Commissioner’s T20 Cup


By Akeem Greene

After there was no tournament in 2020, F Division will finally get the opportunity to defend their title in the Police Commissioner’s Inter-Division T20 tournament, which commences tomorrow (March 31) at the Police Sports Club ground, Eve Leary.

The confident group, led by the seasoned campaigner Trevor Benn, was fine-tuning their preparation over the weekend with both intense training sessions and practice matches. They play their first match against Region Six from 09:00h on Wednesday.

“We have an excellent chance because we have a far better team than in 2019 and from the training the guys are putting in I can see we have a lot of confidence and I can see the support for the team,” Benn related to News Room Sport.

He added, “The whole thing is supporting each other, rallying around each other and in our fielding, since catches win matches.  When we go out to bat, we have to bat in partnerships, and when bowling we have to bowl in partnerships.”

The captain is banking on former National Under-19 batsman Alex Algoo to lead his team’s charge with support from the likes of Marvin Peters, Leon Crawford, Brandon Frank, and wicketkeeper-batsman Leon Andrews.

F Division captain, Trevor Benn

In 2019, F Division dethroned Presidential Guard in the final, led by some brutal hitting from Quintin Sampson, who will now turn out for Headquarters.

“It is always a rivalry between us. You have Presidential Guard which is a relatively strong team, you have A Division, Headquarters, and Berbice and Essequibo and even Region Three comes hard because these guys play First-Division cricket,” Benn related.

While the other side gets a regular taste of cricket activity, Benn says due to his troops being stationed in interior locations, their exposure is limited.

“My guys from F Division would be in the interior all year round and just when it comes to Commissioner’s Cup we come out and put in our hard work and it helps us bring out the title.”

F Division are in Zone A, alongside Region Four ‘C’, Region Six, Officers, Region Five and Tactical Service Unit (TSU).

Zone B comprises Presidential Guard, Region Four ‘A’ and ‘B’, Region Ten, Region Three, Headquarters and Region Two.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.