Roger Harper re-elected President of Demerara Cricket Club


Cricket West Indies Chief Selector, Roger Harper, has been elected to serve for the next two years as President of his childhood club, Demerara Cricket Club.

The former West Indies Cricketer and Coach, who held the said position after the 2018 elections, was re-elected unopposed when the Queenstown-based club held its election of officer bearers on May 4.

Lawrence Smith, who previously served as Second Vice-President, was elected as First Vice-President, while Patrick Harding now takes up the role as Second Vice-President.

Additionally, Colin Alfred replaced Mahindra Jaikarran as Secretary, while Dennis Squires continues in his role as Club Captain.

Lyndon Lyght takes over the role of Indoor Captain from Dionne Cush-Barnwell and veteran Journalist Adam Harris remains the Public Relations Officer.

The position of Treasurer and Assistant Secretary/Treasurer are temporarily vacant due to no one accepting the nomination, however, at the next meeting, those positions are expected to be filled.

The Committee Members are: Troy Halley, Mahindra Jaikaran, Rudolph Callender, Reginald Brotherson and Mark Harper.

DCC, themed the ‘Home of the Legends’, was established in 1912 and has produced famous players, such as the Christiani brothers, Clive Lloyd, Lance Gibbs, and numerous national youth players in recent years.

In 2011, the club was voted Guyana Cricket Board’s Club-of-the-Year.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.