Cox among six axed by Golden Jaguars


Former captain, Samuel Cox, is among six changes to the Golden Jaguars squad for the second round of the CONCACAF FIFA World Cup 2022 qualifiers next month in St. Kitts and Nevis.

The squad was released by the Guyana Football Federation on Thursday afternoon.

In the first round of the qualifiers, which were hosted by the Dominican Republic in March, Jaguars lost their first match to Trinidad and Tobago 0-3 but rebounded to beat The Bahamas 4-0 in their second match.

Second-round action will see Guyana play both of its matches in St Kitts and Nevis, first of which will be the host nation on June 4 followed by Puerto Rico June 8.

Golden Jaguars are preparing for two matches in the CONCACAF FIFA World Cup 2022 qualifiers

Jaguars are currently third in the group with three points and must win their remaining matches in order to possibly top the group and progress to the next round of the qualifiers.

Golden Jaguars squad:

Goalkeepers: Akel Clarke (Mount Pleasant Academy), Kai McKenzie-Lyle (Cambridge United FC), Shawn Adonis (Guyana Police Force FC).

Defenders: Miguel Scarlett (Colchester United), Matthew Briggs (Vijle Boldk), Liam Gordon (Bolton Wanders FC), Nicolai Andrews (Santos FC), Bayli Spencer-Adams (Watford FC), Terence Vancooten (Stevenage FC), Kevin Layne (Mount Pleasant Academy).

Midfielders: Nathan Moriah-Welsh (Bournemouth FC), Javier George (Stade Beaucairois 30 FC), Daniel Wilson (Guyana Defence Force FC), Jobe Caesar (Guyana Defence Force FC), Marcus Wilson (Santos FC), Pernel Schultz (Guyana Police Force FC).

Forwards: Stephen Duke-McKenna (Queen’s Park Rangers FC), Keanu Marsh-Brown (Wrexham AFC), Omari Glasgow (Fruta Conquerors FC), Kelsey Benjamin (Guyana Defence Force FC), Osafa Simpson (Guyana Police Force FC), Trayon Bobb (Uitvlugt Warriors FC) and Ermey Welshman (Hapoel Raanana).

In: Liam Gordon, Kevin Layne, Javier George, Marcus Wilson, Stephen Duke-McKenna and Osafa Simpson

Out: Kadell Daniel, Sam Cox, Ryan Hackett, Callum Harriott, Jeremey Garrett and Nicholas McArthur

Technical Staff: Ian Greenwood (Technical Director), Márcio Máximo (Head Coach), Charles Pollard (Assistant Coach), Eon DeVeria (Goalkeeper Coach).

Medical Staff: Kojo Sandiford (Team Doctor), Lead Physiotherapist (Denzil Hernandez), Physiotherapist (Quacy Paddy) and Pablino Cupido (Team Medic)

Sports Science: Wilson Toledo (Head of Sports Science)

Recruitment: Faizal Khan (Head of Recruitment)

Operations: Rawle Adams (Team Operations Manager), Naseya Brewster (Assistant Team Operations Manager), Trevor Burnett (Equipment Manager) and Keeran Williams (Media Officer)

Match Days

June 4 – St. Kitts and Nevis v Guyana (16:00h)

June 8 – Guyana v Puerto Rico (16:00h)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.