Hope, Powell in West Indies provisional squad to face South Africa


The Cricket West Indies (CWI) Selection Panel has named a provisional 17-man squad as preparations continue for the upcoming Betway Test Series against South Africa. The squad is expected to be further cut down to an official 13 members on Monday, June 7.

Batsmen Shai Hope and Kieran Powell, both of whom were among the runs in the ‘Best v Best’ Four-day game this week, have been included. Hope made 79 and 106 for Jermaine Blackwood XI and Powell scored 22 and 95 for Jahmar Hamilton XI, who won the match by three wickets, chasing 311.

All-rounder Roston Chase, who claimed match-figures of 5-88 and scored 35 and 45*, has also been included, while opener John Campbell has been sidelined.

No Guyanese has been named in the provisional squad. However, Nial Smith will remain in St. Lucia to assist with the Test squad preparations, alongside fellow fast bowlers Keon Harding, Preston McSween and Marquino Mindley.

PROVISIONAL SQUAD: Kraigg Brathwaite (Captain), Jermaine Blackwood (Vice-Captain), Nkrumah Bonner, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua Da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Jahmar Hamilton, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Kieran Powell, Kemar Roach, Jayden Seales and Jomel Warrican.

Fast bowler Chemar Holder was unavailable due to injury while 19-year-old fast bowler Jayden Seales is a first-time inclusion in the West Indies provisional squad for a Test Series.

The two-match Betway Test Series will be played at the Daren Sammy Cricket Ground for the Sir Vivian Richards Trophy on June 10-14 and June 18-22. These are the final matches in the current cycle of the ICC World Test Championship with both teams trying to finish higher in the final Championship table.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.