“Always give 100%”- Sir Curtly to debutant Seales


By Avenash Ramzan

“Always give 100%.”

That was the advice of former West Indies fast bowler Sir Curtly Ambrose as he presented young pacer Jayden Seales with his first Test cap on Thursday morning in St. Lucia.

The Trinidadian youngster made the West Indies final XI to face South Africa in the first of two Test matches at the Daren Sammy Cricket Ground.

19-year-old Seales, who has played just a solitary First-Class match and has one wicket, has impressed the Selection Panel in intra-squad matches leading up to the series against South Africa, and according to him, being in the squad was “a dream come true.”

Sir Curtly, who took 405 Test wickets in 98 matches, said to Seales: “I want to first offer my congratulations on making the senior West Indies team. I just want to remind you that you’re not doing it for yourself, nor your family or friends, you’re doing it for the team and millions of West Indian supporters at home and abroad, and other supporters as well.”

“Always give 100%; do the very best you can for the team, and I wish you a long and prosperous career.”

In the West Indies ‘Best v Best’ Four-Day game last week, Seales took 1-47 and 4-40, while in a two-day game before the Sri Lanka series in March, he picked up 3-42 and 1-23.

Lead Selector Roger Harper said: “Jayden Seales is young, very enthusiastic and has a big heart. In the ‘Best v Best’ matches he bowled with pace, got movement and has displayed the ability to take wickets. We think he is capable of adding potency to the bowling attack.”

Seales’ lone First-Class game was for West Indies A against New Zealand A in December 2020 in Nelson. He returned figures of 1-53 and 0-23.

Meanwhile, West Indies captain Kraigg Brathwaite called correctly at the toss and has elected to bat first.

West Indies XI: Kraigg Brathwaite (Captain), Shai Hope, Nkrumah Bonner, Kyle Mayers, Jermaine Blackwood (Vice-captain), Roston Chase, Joshua DaSilva (WK), Jason Holder, Rahkeem Cornwall, Kemar Roach, Jayden Seales.

South Africa XI: Aiden Markram, Dean Elgar (Captain), Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Quinton de Kock (WK), Wiaan Mulder, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje

Kyle Verreynne and Keegan Petersen are on debut for South Africa.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.