Vote to dismiss Lowenfield, Myers and Mingo delayed again

- Alexander, Trotman log out of Zoom meeting


A decision is yet to be made on the motions filed to dismiss the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) trio over their handling of the 2020 general and regional elections.

One of the three, Chief Elections Officer Keith Lowenfield withdrew his court challenge to dismiss him along with his Deputy Roxanne Myers and Region Four Returning Officer Clairmont Mingo, leaving a clear path for the vote to proceed.

However, at Tuesday’s meeting which commenced at 13:00 hrs, two Opposition nominated Commissioners refused to participate.

Commissioner Sase Gunraj said that at the meeting held virtually, much time was spent discussing the formation of the motion rather than its substance.

Sase Gunraj, GECOM Commissioner

When the vote was imminent, the two Commissioners Vincent Alexander and Desmond Trotman indicated their refusal to participate.

“They indicated that they will not participate in the votes because discussions on the motion included reference to the cause and they [the Commissioners] do not want reference to cause of why the contracts are being terminated,” Gunraj explained.

“As a consequence, they indicated that they will not be participating any further in the meeting and they logged out….”

That action disrupted the quorum that existed, forcing the GECOM Chairman Justice (retired) Claudette Singh to adjourn the meeting for two days.

Justice Claudette Singh, the Chair of the Guyana Elections (GECOM)

The entire Commission is expected to meet again on Thursday when it is expected that the motions will be put to a vote.

This is not the first time that Justice Singh had to defer the discussion on the three motions by the government-nominated commissioners calling for the dismissal of the controversial GECOM trio.

On June 1, 2021, a motion to immediately dismiss the embattled Chief Elections Officer was moved by Gunraj, while his colleague Commissioner Bibi Shadick moved another motion to remove his Deputy.

The third motion, moved by Commissioner Manoj Narayan, seeks the immediate dismissal of Mingo.

With the current makeup of the Commission, the success of these motions now rely essentially on the vote of the GECOM Chairman.

The motions were filed more than a year after the three, along with others, were accused of attempting to thwart the results of the March 02, 2020, regional and general elections.

1 Comment
  1. Matthew says

    How can anybody outsmart those 2 genius’s……the logged out. lol. Fools…….that have no business being on any commission.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.