World T20: South Africa leave out du Plessis, Tahir and Morris


Faf du Plessis has not been included in South Africa’s T20 World Cup squad despite being available to play international white-ball cricket. Du Plessis, who retired from Tests in February, specifically named the World Cup as one of his goals.

However, he has not played a white-ball match for South Africa since December last year and has not been part of any of South Africa’s recent squads.

Similarly, Imran Tahir, who retired from ODIs after the 2019 World Cup, but remained available in T20s, is also not included.

Chris Morris, the allrounder, who also last played at the 2019 World Cup and earlier this year revealed he had no conversations with anyone at CSA about a possible future for the national side, has also not been considered.

Effectively, that means South Africa have decided against using free agents in the national side.

South Africa squad: Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Radaba, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen Reserves: George Linde, Andile Phehlukwayo, Lizaad Williams. (ESPNcricinfo)



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.