Regional Four-Day to resume late January, early February 2022- Adams


By Akeem Greene

Cricket West Indies (CWI) is eyeing a return of Regional First-Class cricket in late January or early February 2022 after close to a two-year hiatus, caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.

CWI’s Director of Cricket, Jimmy Adams, made the disclosure Tuesday evening on Barbados radio programme, Mason and Guest.

There were talks about a potential restart to the Four-Day season in April this year, but nothing materialised as various Caribbean countries enforced strict travel restrictions to combat the dreaded virus.

Apart from the CG Insurance Super50 Cup, which was played in a bubble earlier this year in Antigua, no other senior regional tournament, organised by CWI, has occurred since the abrupt end of the Regional Four-Day competition in March 2020.

Adams indicated that ideally, he would love to play the entire 10 rounds of the competition, but it is likely to be limited to just five rounds.

Discussions are still ongoing as to the model they will use, the former West Indies batsman noted.

“We have recommended that we start Four-Day Cricket at the last week in January or the first week in February next year, and I agree with you 100%; it is desperately time for us now to get Four-Day cricket playing in the region for more than one reason,” the Director of Cricket stated.

According to Adams, at a minimum, they will want to play five rounds: “There are no two ways, we have to get Four-Day cricket being played.”

At this point, CWI hopes that there will be “limited travel” and he used an example where three franchises stay at home and the other three travel for three rounds, and the roles are reversed for the second phase.

The Director of Cricket indicated that from a development standpoint it is important to get players travelling and playing in different conditions, but such plans will rest on the prevailing COVID-19 situation.

No venues have been decided upon as yet.

Last March, Barbados Pride were declared the 2020 champion after eight rounds, ending Guyana Jaguars’ five-year stranglehold on the title.

The Professional Cricket League started in 2014 and is contested between Jaguars, Pride, Jamaica Scorpions, Trinidad and Tobago Red Force, Windward Volcanoes and Leeward Hurricanes over 10 rounds with franchises playing matches both home and away.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.