Chennai Super Kings beat KKR to win fourth IPL title

SUMMARY: Chennai Super Kings 192-3 from 20 overs (Faf du Plessis 86 off 59, Moeen Ali 37* off 20, Ruturaj Gaikwad 32 off 27, Robin Uthappa 31 off 15; Sunil Narine 2-26) vs Kolkata Knight Riders 165-9 from 20 overs (Shubman Gill 51 off 43, Venkatesh Iyer 50 off 32; Shardul Thakur 3-38, Josh Hazlewood 2-29, Ravindra Jadeja 2-37)


Chennai Super Kings won their fourth IPL title, beating Kolkata Knight Riders by 27 runs in the final on Friday in Dubai.

Chasing 193, Knight Riders got a rousing start of 91 in 10.4 overs by Shubman Gill and Ventakesh Iyer, but lost eight wickets for 34 runs to effectively bat themselves out of the contest.

They eventually managed 165-9 with Gill making 51 and Iyer 50. Shardul Thakur finished with 3-38, while Josh Hazelwood and Ravindra Jadeja took two wickets each.

Earlier, Super Kings (192-3) got contributions from all their batsmen, led by Faf du Plessis, who was dismissed off the final ball of the innings for 86 off 59 balls. Moeen Ali made 37 not out, Ruturaj Gaikwad 32 and Robin Uthappa 31.

Sunil Narine took 2-26.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.