Redemption time for ‘Green Machine’ at RAN Sevens


The National Men’s Rugby Sevens team last tasted Championship success at the Rugby Americas North (RAN) level in 2016.

A transitioning team, bad tactics and luck of the sport, all went against them since that triumph, but with a renewed vigour, there is much to redeem for a formidable force in Caribbean rugby.

The team departed Thursday evening for the Turks and Caicos for the two-day championship and while they have a development goal of at least finishing in the top four, there is cautious optimism they could make it to the final, according to Head Coach Theodore Henry.

Guyana will hope they can get a hold on Jamaica this tournament and win their eighth Caribbean Sevens title

Since the 2016 success, Jamaica has been a torn to the ‘Green Machine’, topping them in the 2017 and 2018 finals while in 2019, they could only muster a sixth place.

There is confidence in the camp that they have what it takes to win an eighth title, according to captain, Jamal Angus.

The Guyanese open their campaign on Saturday at noon against Belize, followed by a clash against Bermuda from 14:15h.

After day one, the top two teams from each of the three pools will advance to the Cup competition, while the bottom team will play for the Plate on day two.

For the Cup competition, the six nations that advance will be re-seeded into two pools of three and play against each of their pool opponents in their first two games on Sunday, October 17.

After those two rounds, the top-seeded nation in each pool will advance to the Cup Final, while the two second-place teams will play for bronze and the two third-place teams will play in the 5th/6th place match.

The tournament also acts as a qualifier for next year’s World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series, with the winning side gaining the opportunity to compete for the 16th and final spot on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens series.

‘Green Machine’ Squad: Jamal Angus (Captain), Godfrey Broomes, Rondell McArthur, Osei McKenzie, Fabian Joseph, Lancelot Adonis, Peabo Hamilton, Avery Corbin, Oneil Charles, Johnathon Garnett, Lionel Holder, and Tyrese Prescod.

Management: George David (Manager), Theodore Henry (Head Coach), and Akeem Fraser (Physiotherapist).

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.