Carl Greenidge, Volda Lawrence pick up nominations for PNC/R leader

- Gary Best, Geeta Chandan and others nominated for party chairman


Ahead of the People’s National Congress Reform (PNC/R) 21st biennial Congress in December, Party Chairman and acting leader Volda Lawrence and Party Executive Carl Greenidge have picked up nominations for the position of party leader.

This is according to a press statement from the PNC/R, which noted that there have been seven group nominations for the position of party leader.

In addition to Lawrence and Greenidge, the other nominees include Party Executives Basil Williams, Dr. Richard Van-West Charles, Aubrey Norton, Joseph Harmon and Sharma Solomon.

Former President and party leader David Granger has not secured a single nomination, based on the list provided by the PNC/R. Granger has become increasingly unpopular in the party, but he also has health issues that prompted his leave of absence from the party.

The News Room was previously informed that those who once rallied around Granger have now thrown their support, in split fashion, behind party executives Harmon, Norton, and Dr. Van West-Charles.

The former President did pick up one nomination to have a seat on the Central Executive Committee (CEC), a source within the party told the News Room. The CEC is the main decision-making body of the 64-year-old party.

Importantly, Van-West Charles, Norton and Harmon have launched public campaigns as they seek party members’ support for their election to the position.

The News Room was informed that Norton has also reportedly secured the support of Lawrence, who has also been nominated for the post of Chairman.

Top (L-R) Joseph Harmon, Dr. Richard Van West Charles, Aubrey Norton, Amanza Walton Desir and Sherwayne Holder. Bottom (L-R) Basil Williams, David Granger, Volda Lawrence, Simona Broomes and Christopher Jones

But sources at the PNC/R’s Congress Place, Sophia Headquarters, told the News Room that Lawrence does not have any intentions of running for Leader and it is unclear whether she will accept the nomination to be returned to the post of Chairman.

And indeed, according to the press statement, Lawrence has received a nomination for the position of party chairman.

Other noteworthy nominees for this position are: Rear Admiral (Ret’d) Gary Best and Geeta Chandan.

Shurwayne Holder, Amanza Walton-Desir, Roysdale Forde, Annette Ferguson, Aubrey Norton, Sharma Solomon, Ronald Bulkan, Christopher Jones, Richard Van-West Charles, Simona Broomes, Dawn Hastings, Joseph Harmon, and Mervyn Williams have also been nominated for the position.

For the position of party vice-chairman, there have been 30 nominations while for the position of party treasurer, there have been 18 nominations.

The nominees for the vice-chairman position include: Elizabeth Niles-Williams, Volda Lawrence, Dawn Hastings-Williams, Annette Ferguson, Vinceroy Jordan, Gregory Fraser, Aubrey Norton, Darren Wade, Gary Best, Christopher Jones, Richard Van-West Charles, Vinceroy Jordan, Shurwayne Holder, Roysdale Forde, Ubraj Narine, Sharma Solomon, Robert Corbin, Simona Broomes, Natasha Singh-Lewis, Kirk Fraser, Randolph Critchlow, Amanza Walton-Desir, Corretta McDonald, Ronald Cox, Ronald Bulkan, Mervyn Williams, Ganesh Mahipaul, Bernita Primo, Samuel Sandy, and Jevaughn Stephens.

The nominees for the party treasurer include:  Ivelaw Henry, Clayton Newman, Elson Lowe, Vanessa Kissoon, Derrick Lawrence, Gary Best, Faaiz Mursaline, Ubraj Narine, Ronald Bulkan, Carol Smith-Joseph, Annette Ferguson, Amanza Walton-Desir, Roysdale Forde, Dr. Karen Cummings, Volda Lawrence, Ganesh Mahipaul, Daniel Seeram, and Deron John.

All nominees will be written to and requested to indicate their acceptance of these nominations. The PNC/R noted that failure to respond means that their names would not automatically appear on the Ballot for the position(s) for which they were nominated.

Congress will be held on December 11; it will be conducted in a decentralised, hybrid manner.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.