News Room cops media award  


The News Room Inc. on Thursday was awarded by the Georgetown Chamber of Commerce and Industry (GCCI) for its outstanding coverage of the private sector over the years.

“They have received this award for their investigative reporting in covering the private sector development within Guyana,” one of the event’s co-hosts, Ambika Ramraj told the GCCI’s 132nd Annual Awards and Gala Thursday night at the Pegasus Hotel in Georgetown.

Isanella Patoir, one of the journalists at the News Room, receives the award from President of ExxonMobil Alistair Routledge

Since its launch in April 2016, the News Room has emerged as the leading online and broadcast media house in the country. The media company also led the charge in the coverage of the five-month-long 2020 national elections which were marred by allegations of rigging.

Apart from being on top of the hardcore issues, the News Room Inc. is also known for featuring unique stories in addition to promoting the work of the business community.

A young team led by Editor-in-Chief Fareeza Haniff prides itself on diverse and extensive coverage, specifically tailored to resonate with Guyana’s unique cultural diversity.

The team of young professionals from various parts of Guyana on a daily basis fuse their talent, ideas and creativity to produce content that not only educates and informs, but captivates and intrigues.

Over the last five years, the News Room has commanded the media landscape with efficiency, accuracy and integrity as being the hallmark of its operations.


Under the tagline ‘Valuing your Trust’, the News Room is cognisant of its responsibility to the viewing and reading public, and its commitment to ensuring its journalistic practices are above board.

The small team that makes a big impact daily currently has a following of over 400,000 on social media.

Meanwhile, several businesses and outstanding business owners received awards from the GCCO for their commitment to developing the sector here.

The Public Service Award for Excellence was presented to the Civil Defence Commission (CDC). The CDC was awarded for their leadership and hard work such as donating essential items to local citizens and other countries during the COVID-19 pandemic, flood relief and the volcano eruption in St Vincent and the Grenadines.

The Outstanding Green Business Award was presented to Eco-Green Guyana, a company that is committed to recycling, climate-smart agriculture, greenhouse gas reduction, green education, the use of renewable energy sources, sustainable materials usage, and water use reduction.

Eco-Green Guyana was applauded for its effort to reduce the negative impacts on the air, soil, freshwater, forests and biodiversity.

L-R: Nicholas Degoo-Boyer, a presentative from GAICO Construction and Nazar Mohamed of Mohamed’s Enterprise


Secretary of GCCI, Shaliza Shaw copped the Woman in Business Award. She has demonstrated outstanding leadership and has made a significant contribution to the business sector in Guyana.

She was also recognised for her work in the banking sector, along with her dedication to reducing the harsh effects of climate change.

Another member of the GCCI, Executive Director Richard Rambarran was awarded the Young Business Executive Award.

Secretary of GCCI, Shaliza Shaw copped the Woman in Business Award

This award was open to any young individual under the age of 35 with skills, vision and tangible business success.

Rambarran has been the driving force of the GCCI for many years; he holds several professional certificates in trade, oil and gas and public policy.

Other awardees included;

Fresh Press Enterprises – Business of the Year (Small)

Zeco Group of Services – Business of the Year (Medium)

Gaico Construction and General Services Inc – Business of the Year (Large)

All three businesses would have achieved an overall good performance in financial growth, outstanding customer satisfaction, internal processes, improvements and employee relations.

the other awardees are as follow;

Global Compliance Service Guyana – Award for Innovation

Mohamed’s Enterprise – Corporate Citizenship Award

Frank DeAbreu – Life Time Achievement Award

Sham Outar – Outstanding Service to the Business community

Nicholas Deygoo-Boyer – Business Excellence Award

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.