Cavaliers 22 Yards beat US All Stars to win US Open T20

SUMMARY: Cavaliers 22 Yards 150-7 from 20 overs (Steven Taylor 47, Hammad Azam 23, Chandrapaul Hemraj 20; Trevon Griffith 2-25, Jon-Russ Jaggesar 2-33) vs US All Stars 139-7 from 20 overs (Trevon Griffith 57, Denesh Ramdin 29, Syed Najafshah 2-25).


Cavaliers 22 Yards played unbeaten throughout the US Open T20 to lift the title, beating US All Stars by 11 runs in the final at the Central Broward Regional Park.

Cavaliers’ 150-7 proved just enough as US All Stars responded with 139-7 when the overs finished.

Guyanese Trevon Griffith on the attack during his fifty

Batting first, Cavaliers were given a brisk start of 53 in 4.5 overs between Steven Taylor and Chandrapaul Hemraj.

Left-hander Hemraj, who ended as the third leading runscorer of the tournament and Cavaliers’ most prolific batsman with 207 runs in five innings, was the first to go for 20 off 13 (1x4s, 2x6s).

After that, wickets fell regularly with only Taylor with 47 off 37 (4x4s, 2x6s) and Hammad Azam with 23 off 19 (1×4, 1×6) making any significant impact with the bat.

Bowling for US All Stars, Guyanese Trevon Griffith took 2-25 and fellow off-spinner Jon-Russ Jaggesar bagged 2-33 to end the tournament as the leading wicket-taker with 13 scalps.

Opener Griffith returned to topscore with 57 off 45 (6x4s, 1×6), in the process accumulating the most runs (233 in five innings) in the competition, and former West Indies wicketkeeper/batsman Denesh Ramdin scored 29 not out off 25, but US All Stars fell short of the target.

Syed Najafshah was the pick of the bowlers for Cavaliers with 2-25.

The competition attracted 10 teams split equally across two groups.

Group One had Cavaliers 22 Yards, US All Stars, Brampton Pacers, Yankee Royals and NDCC Mace Royals, while Group Two comprised Florida Scorpions, Clarion County Eagles, Samp Army, Punjab Blues and Titans Cricket Club.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.