Foster re-elected unopposed as Berbice Cricket Board president


The incumbent Hilbert Foster was on Sunday re-elected unopposed as president of the Berbice Cricket Board (BCB). The long-serving cricket administrator received all 34 votes at the elections, held at the Port Mourant Cricket Ground.

“Mr. Foster was unopposed, but the rules state that delegates still had to cast their votes. The popular President has worked beyond the call of duty to lift the standard of cricket to its highest level and most importantly has united all factions of Berbice Cricket by reaching out to even those who had worked hard to oppose him. The re-elected President committed himself to working even harder in the future and to make sure that the future is brighter,” the BCB said in a press statement.

The newly elected executives of the Berbice Cricket Board

Others elected were Albert Smith, Qualis Winter and Dr. Cecil Beharry as Vice-Presidents, and Angela Haniff and Ameer Rahaman as Secretary and Assistant Secretary respectively.

Rovin Beharry is the new Treasurer and would have as his assistant Neil Rudder.

“Like the head of their slate, all the officials were elected 34-0,” the BCB added.

The Mental Hospital was the only club not present at the meeting as twelve clubs and all three sub-associations turned up in a massive support for the vibrant board.

“President Hilbert Foster immediately went to work by summoning an executive meeting, where he informed his executives there would be no place for laziness, dishonesty and victimisation. He told the executives in no uncertain terms that they would be expected to fulfill their duties and must be more visible across the county,” the BCB statement highlighted.

The executives appointed Simon Naidu as the Public Relations Officer, Leslie Soloman as Competition Chairman, Balram Samaroo as Junior Selectors Chairman and Albert Smith as Chairman of the Senior Team.

The names of the other selected persons would be announced shortly.

Colin Bynoe was the Returning Officer and was assisted by Winston Smith and Ryan Algu. Malcom Peters, the Cricket Ombudsman, was present at the meeting to conduct the elections.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.