Big names to feature in GCA Two-Day semi-finals


This weekend the Georgetown Cricket Association (GCA) will have a series of matches, but most of the attention will be on the First-Division Two-Day semi-finals.

Everest Cricket Club (ECC) will host defending champions Demerara Cricket Club (DCC), while Police Sports Club (PSC) will travel to Georgetown Cricket Club (GCC). Both matches are scheduled to commence at 09:30h.

Everest, the Camp Road unit, will be led by leg-spinner Amir Khan, but a lot of eyes will be on blossoming talent, Matthew Nandu. In support would be Test opener Rajindra Chandrika and former national player Troy Gonsalves.

Demerara Cricket Club squad: Christopher Barnwell (captain), Trevon Griffith, Steven Sankar, Ashmead Nedd, Totaram Bishun, Joshua Persaud, Raj Nannan, Peter Perez, Sachin Singh, Nikosi Beaton, Jamal Byron, Paul Wintz, Cohen Ismond, Trevon Garraway and Derwin Christian.

Over at Bourda, former national youth player Devon Lord will captain the hosts and has at his service Winston Forrester along with Ronaldo Alimohamed.

PSC, despite missing some players due to national duties, is a power-packed unit led by captain Kevon Boodie, Kemol Savory, Quintin Sampson and Ronsford Beaton, along with off-spinner Kelvin Leitch.

Meanwhile, there will be a Noble House Seafoods Second-Division Two-Day match between Bel Air Rubis and host PSC from 11:00h.

On Saturday, there will be a GCA Under-15 practice match at DCC from 09:30h, as they prepare for the Demerara Cricket Board Inter-Association tournament.

Everest Cricket Club squad: Amir Khan (captain), Rajendra Chandrika, Javed Rasheed, Richie Loaknauth, Joseph Perry, Troy Gonsalves, David Williams, Ronaldo Renee, Chris Harry, Aaron Beharry, Denesh Mangal, Ushardeva Balgobin, Travis Mohamed, Anthony Khan, Mathew Nandu and Raylex Payne.

Police Sports Club squad: Kevon Boodie (Captain), Kemol Savory, Alex Algoo, Andrew Lyght Jr., Kelvin Leitch, Jason Heyliger, Kevlon Anderson, Pernell London, Quentin Sampson, Eon Rodrigues, Ronford Beaton, Titus Webster and Patrick Morris.

Georgetown Cricket Club squad: Devon Lord (captain), Winston Forrester, Benard Bailey, Stephon Wilson, Marvin Dindyal, Zachary Jodah, Krnsa Singh, Rivaldo Phillips, Joshua Charles, Tyree Glasgow, Thadeus Lovell, Daniel Seegobin, R. Jodah, R. Hemraj, A. Persaud

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.