GCA First Division Two-Day title stays at DCC

SUMMARY: DCC 590-4 dec. from 69.1 overs (Trevon Griffith 300, Christopher Barnwell 175, Joshua Persaud 85; Winston Forrester 2-114, Ronaldo Alimohamed 2-141) and 105-4 (Raj Nanan 32*, Jamal Byron 27, Sachin Singh 17; Thaddeus Lovell 2-23, Forrester 1-1, Alimohamed 1-18) v GCC 92 all out (Forrester 25, Ryan Hemraj 21; Ashmead Nedd 4-8, Totaram Bishun 4-39)


Demerara Cricket Club (DCC) reaffirmed their dominance in the Georgetown Cricket Association (GCA) when they stoutly defended their First-Division Two-Day title at the weekend at the ‘Home of the Legends’ in Queenstown.

Rain on Sunday prevented what potentially would have been a massive outright victory over arch-rivals Georgetown Cricket Club (GCC), but first-innings points were good enough to seal the triumph.

It was really set up by Trevon Griffith’s brutal triple-century and Christopher Barnwell’s power-packed 175, then backed up by spin-magic from Ashmead Nedd and Totaram Bishun which took GCC’s chances out of the equation.

GCC started day two on 90-8 in response to DCC’s mammoth 590-4 declared, and managed to add only two more runs to be bowled out in 25.2 overs.

Trevon Griffith walked away with the lion’s share of the awards (Photo: News Room/February 20, 2022)

Nedd took a remarkable 4-8 from 10 overs, while Bishun had 4-39 from 8.2 overs. Steven Sankar (1-4) and Carlton Jacques (1-20) were the other wicket-takers.

Despite a lead of 498, DCC opted not to insert the follow-on and took strike again. Rain brought a halt to the contest at 105-4 after 27 overs.

Sachin Singh looked responsible with 17 (3x4s) from 36 balls, while Jamal Byron and Raj Nanan took the opportunity to form a 54-run partnership for the fourth wicket.

Both former national youth cricketers, Byron had three fours in his 27 from 59 balls, while Nanan was unbeaten on 32 (4x4s; 1×6 from 46 balls).

Thaddeus Lovell took 2-23, while and there was a wicket each for Winston Forrester and Ronaldo Alimohamed.

At the presentation ceremony, Trevon Griffith walked away with the most awards; he had the best bowling performance in Zone A (8-53) against GCC in the preliminary stages; most wickets in preliminary stages (23); most runs in final (300); and Man-of-the-Match.

Christopher Barnwell was the Most Valuable Player for Zone A with 425 (highest of 134), along with the best bowling performance of 6-16 against the University of Guyana, six catches, and one run out.

Mavendra Dindyal was adjudged the best fielder in the final.

Additionally, Leon Johnson’s 200* against UG was the highest score for Zone A during the preliminaries.

In Zone B, Bhaskar Yadram with 275 runs for Everest Cricket Club along with 15 wickets and a best of 7-70 and seven catches, was deemed Zone B’s MVP.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.