East Coast Cricket Board 50-over competition to commence shortly


The East Coast Cricket Board (ECCB) recently launched the ‘Navin/Hanso’ 50-over competition at the LBI Cricket Facility, East Coast Demerara. The launch was attended by several of the clubs scheduled to participate in the tournament, which will commence shortly, the Board has indicated.

“The highly anticipated tournament will feature twelve (12) competitive teams with an attractive mix of caliber players. These include Rajendra Chandrika, Zaheer Mohamed, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Chanderpaul Ramraj, Ramnarine Chatura, Robin Williams, Krishna Deosarran, Aaron Beharry just to name a few,” the ECCB said.

Secretary of ECCB, Davteerth Anandjit, thanked ‘Navin/Hanso’ for their contribution towards the development of cricket on the East Coast of Demerara and Guyana as a whole.

“He posited that the promotion of cricket needs corporate sponsors like ‘Navin/Hanso’ so that cricket can be effectively administered for the identification and growth of players as well as for advancement of the game as a professional activity. Mr. Anandjit wished sponsors ‘Navin/Hanso’ continued and sustained productivity, indicating that the ECCB trust that the business success enjoyed by ‘Navin/Hanso’ will inspire players and teams consistently achieve set goals,” the ECCB said in a release.

The preliminary rounds of the tournament will be played on a round-robin format with the two top teams of each of the two zones qualifying for the semi-finals. All matches are scheduled to start at 10:00h.

The participating teams are:

Zone A: Lusignan Sports Club, Enterprise Busta Sports Club, Fairfield Sports Club, Enmore Community Center Cricket Club, Strathavon Sports Club and Industry Sports Club.

Zone B: Buxton Carl Hoper Cricket Club, LBI Community Center Cricket Club, Better Hope Sports Club, Golden Grove Sports Club, Ogle Sports Club and Mahaica Sports Club.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.