Haynes, Perreira among category winners at GUMDAC Easter Badminton


The atmosphere in the Cliff Anderson Sports Hall at the weekend was electrifying as players competed in semi-final and final games for the GUMDAC Easter Badminton Tournament.

Akili Haynes bested Tyrese Jeffery in an intense match for first place in the A-Division Men’s Singles. Haynes was victorious with the score being 21-12, 21-15. In the Women’s category, Anna Perreira copped first place after beating Shivanie Persaud 21-14, 14-21 and 21-13.

The competition was equally exhilarating in the Men’s Singles B-Division with Varendra Bhagwandin and Matthew Beharry competing for first place. The two athletes gripped spectators as the they battled it out.

In the end, Varendra won 25-23, 18-21, 21-6.

Anna Perreira also copped the first place in the Women’s B-Division, beating Mishka Beharry 21-17, 21-9.

Matthew Kluatky is now the Men’s C-Division champion after beating Nkosi Beaton 21-10, 10-21, 21-14. In the Women’s category, Mishka Beharry defeated Priyanka Shivnauth 21-16, 21-12.

Below are the summarised results

A-Division Men’s Singles

Winner: Akili Haynes

Second: Tyrese Jeffery

Third: Avinash Odit and Jonathon Mangra

Women’s Singles

Winner: Anna Perreira

Second: Shivannie Persaud

Third: Ambika Ramraj and Ayanna Watson

B-Division Men’s Singles

Winner: Varendra Bhagwandin

Second: Matthew Beharry

Third: Ajave Singh and Jaurel Hendricks

Women’s Singles

Winner: Anna Perreira

Second: Mishka Beharry

Third: Priyanka Shivnauth and Ayanna Watson

C-Division Men’s Singles

Winner: Matthew Klautky

Second: Nkosi Beaton

Third: Aiden Bhagwandin and Zachary Persaud

Women’s Singles

Winner: Mishka Beharry

Second: Priyanka Shivnauth

Third: Jayde DaSilva and Deandre Assing

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.