Four-Day practice: ‘Tage’ Chanderpaul scores majestic 139*

SUMMARY: Tagenarine Chanderpaul’s XI 119 (Chanderpaul 22, Kemol Savory 19; Junior Sinclair 4-44, Demetri Cameron 3-23) & 245-5 (Chanderpaul 139*, Savory 49; Sylus Tyndall 1-16, Keemo Paul 1-18) leads Leon Johnson’s XI 202 (Anthony Bramble 77, Vishaul Singh 50, Paul 24; Ronsford Beaton 3-41, Gudakesh Motie 3-43) by 162 runs


At last, a Guyana Harpy Eagles batsman managed to convert his start into a substantial score, and it came from the bat of Tagenarine Chanderpaul.

The dodged opener ended day two of the Four-Day practice match at the National Stadium, Providence, on 139 not out.

In another section of the media, Chairman of Selectors Ravindranauth Seeram, was quoted as saying Tevin Imlach is highly likely to replace Chanderpaul as Harpy Eagles’ opening batsman, but young ‘Tiger’ has responded with a majestic performance.

Chanderpaul’s knock has guided his side to a lead of 162 runs as they reached stumps 245-5 from 72 overs. Kevin Sinclair is unbeaten on one.

Chanderpaul, who has thus far faced 229 balls, striking 18 fours and one six, shared a 96-run partnership with Kemol Savory for the fifth wicket.

 Savory made 49 (7x4s; 1×6) from 95 balls while Matthew Nandu (23) and Mavindra Dindyal (21) also got starts.; Kevlon Anderson (7) and Sachin Singh (0) were the other dismissed batsmen.

Kemol Savory

Wickets were shared for Leon Johnson’s XI, as Sylus Tyndall (1-16), Keemo Paul (1-18), Joshua Jones (1-21), Junior Sinclair (1-37), and Antony Adams (1-58) got in on the act.

Johnson’s XI, resuming on 158-5 were bowled out for 202 in 56.5 overs, as Anthony Bramble only added ten to his overnight score of 67 while Keemo Paul made 24 from 25 balls.

Ronsford Beaton was the pick of the bowlers with 3-41 while Gudakesh Motie had 3-43 and Nial Smith 2-28.

The action resumes Wednesday from 10:00h and this match serves as a vital preparation method before the Guyana Harpy Eagles return to Trinidad and Tobago for the remaining three rounds of the Regional Four-Day Championship from May 18.

Guyana Harpy Eagles squad: Leon Johnson (Captain), Keemo Paul (Vice-Captain), Chandrapaul Hemraj, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Tevin Imlach, Vishaul Singh, Akshaya Persaud, Anthony Bramble, Veerasammy Permaul, Gudakesh Motie, Nial Smith, Demetri Cameron, Antony Adams, Kevin Sinclair and Ronsford Beaton.

Advertisement _____
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.