Team Foundation dominant at Independence Three-Stage cycling


Led by a dominant performance from its riders on Saturday, Team Foundation proved the form team on the opening day of the Guyana Cycling Federation/National Sports Commission’s annual Independence Three-Stage cycling.

In the opening leg from Corriverton to New Amsterdam, a distance of 40 miles, Team Foundation pair Raynauth Jeffrey and Akil Campbell were the first to cross the finish line together, while on Stage Two from Rosignol to Carifesta Avenue, Jamual John of Team Foundation took the top spot.

On Stage One, Jeffrey and Campbell were timed at one hour, 47 minutes, 13.51 seconds, while Deeraj Garbarran, Walter Grant-Stuart, Kemuel Moses and Jason Cameron occupied positions third to sixth respectively with a time of one hour, 51 minutes, 28 seconds.

They were followed by Mario Washington, Alex Mendes, Alexander Leung, Sherwin Sampson, Ralph Williams, Kenrick Sahadeo, Andre Greene, Junior Niles, Kwame Ridley, Jamual John, Kwame Fortune, Dimitri Madansir, Marcus Keiler, Robin Persaud, Jorryn Simson and Christopher Griffith, who received a bunch time of one hour, 55 minutes, 05 seconds.

On Stage Two, race officials stopped the clock at two hours, 35 minutes, 35 seconds when John raced past the finish line, followed by Curtis Dey of Team Evolution.

Coming in third was David Hicks, followed by Akil Campbell, Marcus Keiler and Walter Grant-Stuart in that order.

The Three-Stage will wrap up on Sunday with a ride from Linden to Georgetown after which an overall champion will be announced.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.