Campbelle to captain Guyana in Women’s Super50 and T20 Blaze


West Indies player Shemaine Campbelle has been appointed skipper of the Guyana team to compete in the Cricket West Indies’ CG Insurance Women Super50 Cup and T20 Blaze to be held in Guyana next month.

Campbelle will have as her deputy all-rounder Shabika Gajnabi, the Guyana Cricket Board announced on Wednesday.

The CG Insurance Super50 Cup matches will be played at three venues – Everest Cricket Club, Enmore Cricket Ground and the Guyana National Stadium from June 7 to 17. The T20 Blaze event will feature five full days of entertainment for the fans from June 19 to 25.

There will be three matches per day, starting at 10:00h, 14:30h and 19:00h under lights at the Guyana National Stadium.

For this year’s CG Insurance Super50 and the T20 Blaze several world-class players will be representing their home territories in what promises to be a keenly contested three weeks of action.

Barbados are defending champions in both formats.

Below is the announcement by the Guyana Cricket Board

The national selectors met on Thursday, May 19, 2022 at the Guyana National Stadium and selected the Guyana Senior Women Cricket Team for the CG Insurance Women’s Super50 and CWI T20 Blaze 2022 Tournament to be held in Guyana from June 5, 2022 to June 26, 2022.

Vice-captain Shabika Gajnabi (Photo by Gareth Copley/Getty Images)

The squad will be led by West Indies Senior Women’s player Shemaine Campbelle, who recently returned from Dubai where she was playing competitive cricket. Campbell will have as her deputy, talented West Indian player Shabika Gajnabi.

They will lead a squad of experienced players that includes Tremayne Smartt, Erva Giddings, Katana Mentore, Cherry-Ann Fraser, Sheneta Grimmond and Kaysia Schultz, who have all represented the West Indies.

Julian Moore has been appointed Head Coach of the team, while Kavita Yadram will serve as the Manager.

The squad will be encamped at the LBI Cricket Facility from May 30 to June 3, 2022 in preparation for the Regional 50-over and T20 tournaments.

The squad reads: Shemaine Campbell (Captain), Shabika Gajnabi (Vice-captain), Cherry-Ann Fraser, Katana Mentore, Sherica Campbelle, Sheneta Grimmond, Plaffianna Millington, Kaysia Schultz, Tremayne Smartt, Erva Giddings, Mandy Mangru, Kumarie Persaud, Ashmini Munisar and Lashuna Toussaint.

The reserves are Heema Singh, Dian Prahalad, Latisha Jordan and Naffeza Sabar.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.