Milo Schools football returns with straight KO format


This year’s Milo Schools Under-18 Boys Football Tournament, which is a continuation of the abrupt end to the eighth edition in 2020, will have a change in format, switching to a straight knockout when kick-off occurs on June 18 at the Ministry of Education ground, Carifesta Avenue.

The tournament will continue to have 24 teams, but instead of the usual round-robin then knockout format, the latter alone will be applied for this season only, and seeding is based on the points standings at the time of curtailment in 2020.

According to the Co-Director of the Petra Organisation, Troy Mendonca, they have a commitment to continue the tournament and he firmly believes the players are eager to return to the field of play.

From the company perspective, they are elated to be back as an integral part of finding future national stars, according to Marketing Manager for Nestle (Guyana), Rajinda Lall.

Officials from the Petra Organisation along with representatives of the sponsors and the participating schools at the team briefing on Tuesday

At the team briefing on Tuesday afternoon, each team was given a special Milo-branded ball along with two other balls for training.

The tournament caters for players born on or after January 1, 2004, and involves secondary schools in Georgetown and outlying areas that are registered with the Ministry of Education.

$300,000 will be awarded to the tournament’s winner to go towards a school project. Second to fourth will cop $200,000, $100,000 and $75,000 respectively There will be individual prizes for top performers.

Saturday’s opening fixture is expected to see St. Stanislaus College and St. John’s College battle from 12:30h, followed by three other fixtures.

The boys from Christianburg Wismar Secondary are the defending champions after they defeated Lodge Secondary 1-0 in April 2019, while Annandale Secondary trounced President’s College 5-0 to finish third.

Participating Schools: Annandale Secondary, Ann’s Grove Secondary, The Bishops’ High, Canje Secondary, Carmel Secondary, Charlestown Secondary, North Ruimveldt Secondary, Cummings Lodge Secondary, East Ruimveldt Secondary, Friendship Secondary, Golden Grove Secondary, Lodge Secondary School, Marian Academy, New Central High, President’s College, Buxton Secondary, West Ruimveldt Secondary, St. John’s College, Bladen Hall, Dolphin Secondary, Tucville Secondary, Queen’s College and Christianburg Wismar Secondary.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.