Van Lange, Mohabir star as Demerara crowned U-17 Inter-county champs


The multi-talented Jonathan Van Lange and Alvin Mohabir were the standout as Demerara emerged champions of the just concluded Guyana Cricket Board Under-17 Inter-county competition.

Berbice finished as runner-up in a tournament that was severely hampered by inclement weather.

Read below a recap of the tournament by the Guyana Cricket Board

The GCB Under-17 Inter-county cricket tournament commenced on Saturday June 26, 2022, with a double-header, where Berbice was scheduled to play GCB Rising Stars at the Everest Cricket Club, while Demerara and Essequibo were to play at GCB Cricket Facility at LBI, East Coast Demerara.

However, the weather was conducive to have these matches played at both venues.

Consequently, with improved weather conditions the following day, the clash between Demerara and Essequibo was played at the original venue, while the match-up between Berbice and Rising Stars was re-scheduled to be played at LBI on Wednesday June 29.

The other matches in this tournament had to be played at LBI since no other venue could be utilised due to the inclement weather.

With the determination of the GCB to have these matches played, it was decided to play all matches under lights up to the 22:00h deadline.

Alvin Mohabir took the most wickets and made the second most runs in the tournament

Game One

In the first match, Demerara played Essequibo, and Mohabir took a hat-trick in his five-wicket haul to lead Demerara to a 139-run victory.

Demerara won the toss and elected to take first strike, scoring 205-8 from their allotted 50 overs with opener Jadon Campbell falling short of a half-century, scoring 47 from 94 balls. support came from his opening partner Romeo Deonarine (23) and middle-order batters Mohabir and Sachin Balgobin with 21 and 22 runs respectively.

After exhibiting a well-rounded batting display, Demerara came back strong with the ball, bowling Essequibo team out for a meagre 66 from 34.5 overs. Mohabir completed a majestic bowling performance, taking 6-11.

Fast bowler Dillon Ramsaroop collected 2-9 and Riyad Latiff and Sachin Balgobin both took one wicket a piece. Mohabir was named Man-of-the-Match.

Game Two

In the second match, GCB Rising Stars faced Essequibo on Monday June 27 at LBI, from 14:30h.

Essequibo won the toss and decided to field.

In their innings, which was twice interrupted by rain, GCB Rising Stars made 86 from 30.2 overs after the game was reduced to 37 overs per side.

Both openers failed to give them the start they needed, but wicketkeeper Kevin Kisten effectively represented his side by scoring the top score of 25 from 32 balls, while the middle-order tried but could not survive the strong effort of the Essequibo bowlers.

Lower-order batter Ljtihad Kadir contributed 14 and Nityanand Mathura scored 12. Gulcharran Chuli collected 3-6, while Thaddeus Lovell took 2-26 and Shaaziff Mohamed 2-17.

Essequibo, in reply, had a target of 79 to win through the DLS method, and when a second rain interruption finally ended play, they were 61-5 from 24 overs, 11 runs ahead of the par score.

Lovell made 14, while Jayden Dowlin claimed 2-13. Chuli was named Man-of-the-Match.

Jonathan Van Lange (left) scored the most runs in the competition

Game Three

In the third game, Demerara played Berbice at the LBI ground. Demerara won the toss and decided to bat first, putting up 179 all out from 49.1 of the allotted 50 overs.

After a match-winning performance of 6-11 and 21 retired in the last game against the Essequibo, Demerara skipper Alvin Mohabir scored a well-constructed 58 from 100 balls, hitting three fours.

Wicketkeeper Shiloh Adams chipped in with 29 and Jonathan Van Lange contributed 26. West Indies and Guyana Under-19 fast bowler Isai Thorne grabbed 5-57 from 9.1 overs, Shiv Harripersaud claimed 2-30 and Sanjay Algoo 1-33.

In response, Berbice struggled and only reached 66 all out from 31.2 overs as Sasenarine Harricharran ripped through the batting line-up, picking up 4-11. He was well supported by Mahabir, who took 2-7, while Myhiem Khan, Romeo Deonarine and Riyad Latiff took one wicket a piece.

Rampertab Ramnauth top scored with 21 and was the lone batter to reach double-figures. Demerara won by 113 runs. Mohabir was named Man-of-the-Match.

Match Four

The fourth match saw Berbice facing off with GCB Rising Stars on June 29 at the LBI ground.

Berbice, sent in to bat in a match reduced to 45 overs due to rain, scored 132-9.

Middle-order batter Matthew Pottoya fell short of a half-century, scoring 44 from 53 balls, while opener Romesh Bharat and Sanjay Algoo contributed 15 each.

Wavell Allen grabbed 3-15, while Nityanand Mathura took 2-21. Collis Harcourt, Anthony Khan and Jayden Dowlin took one wicket each.

GCB Rising Stars, in reply, were dismissed for 119 all out with Nyron Hicks making 29 and Allen scoring 25. Bowling for Berbice, Sanjay Algoo claimed 3-20, Afraz Ali Budhoo 2-20 and Salim Khan 2-21.

Berbice won by 13 runs. Pottoya was named Man-of-the-Match.

Match Five

Demerara won the toss against GCB Rising Stars and elected to bat, scoring 126 all out from 40.3 overs. National Under-15 player Jonathan Van Lange topscored with 60 from 75 balls, hitting one four and three sixes.

Jayden Dowlin was the most destructive bowler claiming 4-31, while Nityanand Mathura collected 3-15.

GCB Rising Stars were kept to 74-9 from 32.1 overs, with Jeremiah Hohenkirk the only batter to reach double-figures with 12.

Alvin Mohabir and Mavindra Dindyal took 3-8 and 3-12 respectively. Demerara won by 52 runs and claimed the championship. Van Lange was named Man-of-the-Match.

Match Six

Berbice won the toss against Essequibo and elected to bat, scoring 83 all out from 36.1 overs, with extras topscoring with 26. Thaddeus Lovell was the most effective bowler, grabbing 3-13 with support from Shaaziff Mohamed and Gulcharran Chulai who took 2-8 and 2-2 respectively.

In response, Essequibo struggled to score and fell short of their target by 29 runs. Lovell came back strong with the bat and topscored with 23, while Shaaziff Mohamed scored 11.

Bowling for Berbice, Rashaad Gaffoor collect the best figure of 3-3 from three overs, while Afraz Ali Budhoo took 2-22, Salim Khan 2-6 and Sanjay Algoo 2-11. Berbice won by 29 runs. Lovell was named Man-of-the-Match.

Individual awards

Leading runscorers: Jonathan Van Lange (104) and Alvin Mohabir (83)

Leading wicket-takers: Alvin Mohabir (11) and Jayden Dowlin (7)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.